Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find These Books in Tutt Library
The Black Feminist Reader
Call Number: PS153.N5 B5536 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Bringing together ten key essays in the development of black feminism this book's selections reflect the literary, social & political critiques that mark this area of feminist & anti-racist thought as unique, controversial & informative.
Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment
Call Number: HQ1426.C633 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Collins explores the words and ideas of Black feminist intellectuals as well as those African-American women outside academe. She provides an interpretive framework for the work of such prominent Black feminist thinkers as Angela Davis, bell hooks, Alice Walker, and Audre Lorde. The result is a superbly crafted book that provides the first synthetic overview of Black feminist thought.
Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology
Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 C627 2006
Publication Date: 2006
What would it take to end violence against women of color? How does the mainstream antiviolence movement help? How does it hinder? When will we admit that repositioning women of color at the center of the movement—women more often harmed by the police, prisons, and border patrols than aided by them—means that we must address state violence? In Color of Violence, INCITE! demands that we • reconsider a reliance on the criminal justice system for solving women’s struggles with domestic violence; • acknowledge how militarism subjects women to extreme levels of violence perpetrated from within, and without, their communities; • recognize how the medical establishment inflicts violence—such as involuntary sterilization and inadequate health care—on women of col∨ • devise new strategies for cross-cultural dialogue, theorizing, and alliance building; • and much, much more.
Talking Back: Thinking Feminist, Thinking Black
Call Number: E185.86 .H74 1989
Publication Date: 1989
bell hooks writes about the meaning of feminist consciousness in daily life and about self-recovery, about overcoming white and male supremacy, and about intimate relationships, exploring the point where the public and private meet.
Research Methodology and Practice
Resources on Race and Ethnicity
African Women Bibliographic Database
Coverage: 1986 - current. Indexes English language materials: books and government documents; articles in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; videocassettes. Some full text.
A compilation of Internet resources from various cultural, ethnic, and racial groups in the United States.
Center for World Indigenous Studies
An independent, non-profit research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation for ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples.
Eserver - Race & Ethnicity
E-server started members at Carnegie Mellon University and is now hosted at ISU. It contains a wealth of information on 44 topics, including race and ethnicity.
A collection of resources on such topics as terminology, political issues, identity issues, and ethnicity in history.
National Association of Ethnic Studies
An organization that provides an interdisciplinary forum for scholars and activists concerned with ethnicity.
RACE POL is a discussion list sponsored by the Section on Race, Ethnicity and Politics of the American Political Science Association. The list exists to facilitate communication among political scientists and other scholars who share an interest in race, ethnicity and political power.
A website that gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas and educates American on social and economic issues dealing with race.
A government web portal that provides access to several websites and services for ethnic studies including the National Archives.
Jewish Women's Literature
"The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit to a broad public the history of American Jewish women."
Reference Resources @ Tutt
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu