Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find These Books @ Tutt Library
Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:"
Correspondence written or received by prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. In addition to letters and postcards, the collection includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges. Collection is from McMasters University Library; part of Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1936-1945.
FRAmes on GENder (FRAGEN)
The FRAGEN project brings together books, articles and pamphlets that were influential in the development of feminist ideas in 29 countries during the second half of the 20th century. The aim of the project is to facilitate comparative research into the history of feminist thinking in 27 EU countries plus Croatia and Turkey.
Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts. Coverage: 1929 - current
#Aufschrei : Germany & the Rising Wave of Feminism Online
Anne Wizorek : Personal Democracy Forum 2013, held June 6 and 7 at New York University, was organized around a central theme: "Think Bigger." We've chosen it in part to honor our late friend Aaron Swartz. In a conversation with PDM co-founder Micah Sifry, he asked, "Why not harness the power of the Internet to work on the larger-scale problems?" Why not, indeed. So the 2013 Forum convened practitioners, academics and close observers of the way people are applying technology to difficult issues from election reform to public health.
This is an interview with Elizabeth Adekunle, co-founder of the African Women and Youth Organization e.V. (AWYO) in Berlin Germany. Elizabeth started her non-profit, community advocacy project in 2006 to assist African women access family services in areas of education, legal advice and intercultural communication challenges. She has worked tirelessly as a community activist to support Africans in the diaspora throughout Germany.
Germany: Barbie Dreamhouse sees the wrath of Berlin's feminists
Protesters incensed by Barbie took the streets of Berlin in response to the opening and launch of the city's own Barbie Dreamhouse - a life size replica of doll's fictional Malibu home. The marketing company EMS, who advertised the attraction, say it "provides a completely new insight into the living interior and lifestyle of the most famous doll in the world." The demonstrators operating under the Occupy-Barbie slogan say the doll figure is not a suitable role model for young girls, branding it "sexist" and finding her body shape unrealistic. The doll, if life-size, would have almost half the waist size of the average woman.
BLACK WOMAN-HOOD Femoco AfroFuturism...
CURATOR: Adetoun Küppers-Adebisi Schwarze Deutsche Frauen African Woman African Diaspora AfroGerman Feminism Racism Sexism THE TEN COMMANDMENTS OF AFROFUTURISM - Exhibition @ Heinrich Boell Stiftung Berlin #femoco13 KAMERA Farah Melter AFROTAK TV cyberNomads Production 2013 Feminismen of Color
Find These Reference Resources @ Tutt Library
Find these books in the 1st Floor North Reference section. They are available for Library Use ONLY, and can not be checked out.
Find These Electronic Resources in Tutt Library
NOTE: The student-created projects on this site do NOT represent research findings and/or generalizable knowledge. Rather, these projects represent Colorado College students’ pursuit of knowledge.
Global Feminisms (University of Michigan)
The 'Global Feminisms Project' is a collaborative international project that examines the history of feminist activism, women's movements and academic women's studies in China, India, Poland, and the United States.
A collection of resources on such topics as terminology, political issues, identity issues, and ethnicity in history.
Mixed Race Studies: Afro-Germans...
Mixed Race Studies, a non-commercial website, provides a gateway to interdisciplinary (sociology, psychology, history, law, anthropology, etc.) English language scholarship about the relevant issues surrounding the topic of multiracialism. This site has been called by a preeminent scholar, “the most comprehensive and objective clearinghouse for scholarly publications related to critical mixed-race theory.”
World Wide Web Review: Women and Women's Topics on the Internet - What's the Situation in Germany Today?
by Carolina Brauckmann and Helga Dickel; translation by Claudia Lupri. An Annotated Selection of Women's Informational Sources
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu