Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


FG308 Advanced Topics in Feminism & Gender Studies: Black Feminist Thought: Archives

Mug Shot

Rosa Parks, 1955


ArchiveGrid. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

Archive Finder.  Identifies collections in archives and manuscripts repositories in the United States, U.K., and Ireland.  Archive Finder brings together ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.  The mission of the NUCMC program is to provide and promote bibliographic access to the nation's documentary heritage. This mission is realized by NUCMC production of cataloging describing archival and manuscript collections held by eligible repositories located throughout the United States and its territories. The program's mission is further realized by the provision of free searching, via NUCMC gateways, of archival and manuscript cataloging in OCLC WorldCat.

Archives, Institutions, Libraries, and Museums

African American Research from the National Archives

America's Black Holocaust Museum  An interactive website based on the museum's four themes: Remembrance, Resistance, Redemption, and Reconciliation

Black Past : Remembered & Reclaimed a Digital Archive and online reference guide to African American History

Brown v. Board of Education Digital Archive Provided by the University of Michigan, the archive is divided into four main areas of interest: Supreme Court cases; busing and school integration efforts in northern urban areas; school integration in the Ann Arbor Public School District; and recent resegregation trends in American schools.

Civil Rights Digital Library CRDL is a partnership among librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters. The initiative receives support through a National Leadership Grant for Libraries awarded to the University of Georgia by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

John Hope Franklin Research Center for African and African American History and Culture  

Center for Research Libraries Black Studies

  • The references provided feature the strengths of CRL’s holdings. Links point to more detailed descriptions in our catalog, as well as digital versions of the content or digitized finding aids for microfilm where available. Collecting in this area continues through the purchase programs.  The Michigan State University Libraries are a member of the Center for Research Libraries and faculty and students can borrow materials from their collection.

Center for the Study of Southern Culture courtesy of the University of Mississippi.

Library of Congress

National Archives

Newberry Library (Chicago) African-American Studies

  • The Newberry’s main strength in the field of African American Studies falls in the anti-slavery movement. With more than 2,000 books and pamphlets relating to anti-slavery, the Newberry has over 66 percent of the materials listed in Dumond’s A Bibliography of Antislavery in America and 70 percent of the titles cited in Turner’s Antislavery Sentiment in American Literature.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

  • A research unit of The New York Public Library, generally recognized as one of the leading institutions of its kind in the world. Digital Schomburg provides access to their online collections.

Freedom Summer

Harriet Tubman

Harriet Tubman Drawing from Women and Social Movements, 1600-2000

An engraving of Harriet Tubman from How Did Women Participate in the Underground Railroad? -- available in Women and Social Movements, 1600-2000

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: