Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

FG308 Advanced Topics in Feminism & Gender Studies: Black Feminist Thought: Newspapers

Sojourner Truth, 1864

Three-quarter length portrait of Sojourner Truth. Born a slave in 1797 in Ulster County, New York, Sojourner Truth spoke out against slavery and injustice, and for women’s rights, making people from President Lincoln to street toughs listen. The phrase "I sell the shadow..." often accompanied copies of this portrait, which was sold to raise funds for the anti-slavery cause. In later life, Sojourner Truth lived in Battle Creek, Michigan. Source: Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture/Photographs and Prints Division/The New York Public Library.

Images

Images of African Americans from the 19th Century.  Artists, engravers and photographers managed to capture and preserve for posterity a variety of images of African Americans throughout the 19th century.  The pictures they left range from the stereotypical to the naturalistic. In addition to recording the physical characteristics of their African-American subjects, they document the social, political and cultural life worlds of African-American people from slavery to various stages of quasi freedom.  Courtesy of the Digital Schomberg Collection, Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library.

Five Boys with Tools

The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas : A Visual Record.  Jerome S. Handler and Michael L. Tuite Jr.  The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.  Provided by the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and University of Virginia Library Digital Media Lab.

Black Family, Beaufort, S.C., 1862

Beyond Face Value : Depictions of Slavery in Confederate Currency.  A project of the Civil War Center.  Many Southern notes did not feature images of slavery; this exhibit focuses on the ones that did. This collection features notes issued and circulated in the South during the Antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction Eras. Notes were issued by various entities, including the Confederate government, state governments, merchants, and railroad companies.  Provides jointly by the Louisiana State University Libraries and the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities.

Powerful Days in Black and White. Shocking photos brought the civil rights struggle to all America.  Relive it now throught the eyes of Charles Moore.

Under heavy guard, James Meredith is escorted to registration at Ole Miss by Chief U.S. Marshal James McShane (left) and John Doar of the U. S. Justice Department, Mississippi 1962

Without Sanctuary: Photographs and Postcards of Lynching in AmericaSearching through America's past for the last 25 years, collector James Allen uncovered an extraordinary visual legacy: photographs and postcards taken as souvenirs at lynchings throughout America.  With essays by Hilton Als, Leon Litwack, Congressman John Lewis and James Allen, these photographs have been published as a book "Without Sanctuary" by Twin Palms Publishers . Features will be added to this site over time and it will evolve into an educational tool. Please be aware before entering the site that much of the material is very disturbing. We welcome your comments and input through the forum section.  Experience the images as a flash movie with narrative comments by James Allen, or as a gallery of photos which will grow to over 100 photos in coming weeks. Participate in a forum about the images, and contact us if you know of other similar postcards and photographs.

U.S. Newspapers

Black Newspapers Available from the Center for Research Libraries

Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions (such as Colorado College) have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan via their libraries. The loan period is unlimited, but is subject to possible recall notice. To identify what is available try searching the Center for Research Libraries online catalog.  Browse by country, state, U.S. and Canadian ethnic newspapers, or by Civilian Conservation Corps.  Here is a brief list of some of the featured collections:

The African-American Press Collection. From the Christian recorder, published in Philadelphia in the 1850s, to the Chicago Defender, still very much alive, the African-American press has provided first person coverage of the concerns, interests and achievements of African-Americans throughout the United States. The Center has a “critical mass” of over two hundred titles.

Black newspapers. In 1965, the Center began subscribing to about 20 papers intended primarily for Black communities in major U.S. cities. The Center has retrospective holdings of some Black newspapers and maintains current subscriptions to either newsprint or microfilm editions of the following titles (listed under their current titles):

State
City
Publication
Alabama Birmingham Birmingham world (#2258369)
California Los Angeles Los Angeles sentinel (#9505770)
Florida Jacksonville Florida star (#2261130)
Illinois Chicago Muslim journal (#12063707)
Indiana Indianapolis Indianapolis recorder (#8797400)
Louisiana Shreveport Shreveport sun (#20606995)
Maryland Baltimore Afro-American (#7642696)
Massachusetts Roxbury Bay state banner (#6749070)
Michigan Detroit Michigan chronicle (#2264134)
Missouri Kansas City Call (#16736831)
New York New York New York Amsterdam news (#13416782)
North Carolina Durham Carolina times (#2259007)
Ohio Cleveland Call and post (#9964681)
Pennsylvania Philadelphia Philadelphia tribune (#2266077)
Tennessee Memphis Tri-state defender (#9578018)
Virginia Norfolk Journal and guide (#6836057)

African American Women in America

Black Women in America photo from Washington Post

For more information see Krissah Thompson, Survey Paints Portrait of Black Women in America, Washington Post, January 22, 2012.

New America Media News Feed

 

New America Media: Expanding the News Lens through Ethnic Media  This site provides a wealth of news and other information from all over the US filtered through ethnic lenses. Note that Arican American is one of the ethnic filters that can be selected.

Breaking News...

Breaking African American News from Topix

Blacknews.com

Black Politics on the Web

Black Star News

Black Left Unity : Analyzing/Discussing the Burning Issues of the Movement for Racial Equality

NewsOne for Black America

Realnews.com African-American articles

Photos

AP Images : Also called Associated Press Multimedia Archive. Includes an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the AP news service. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards, but many historical images are also included. All images include descriptive captions and source information.

Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google : Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Heh, it may not be from a newspaper but it compliments the AP Images collection.

Black Feminists News Archive

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu