Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Colonial Indian History
- India, Raj and Empire
Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Coverage: 1701-1800. Digitized copies of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Now incorporates new texts from ECCO part two.
- Early English Books Online
Coverage: 1475 - 1700. Contains the full text of over 100,000 English books, pamphlets, and more, from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers: 1688-2004
The working papers of Parliament (many of which are explained in other pages of About Parliament, such as Bills, Hansard, business papers and judgments). Other papers produced by Parliament and its committees. Papers presented to Parliament by outside bodies.
- 19th Century Masterfile
Coverage: 1200's-1930. Collection of dozens of indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Indexing coverage includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals. Government Documents Indices include indexes to: U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830. Indexing also books, newspapers and periodicals. Links to full text in other databases, HathiTrust and Google Books.
- Times (London) Coverage: 1785-1985. Full text of the The Times (London) provides access to full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
Online Text and Image Collections
- Digital South Asia Library
A project of the Center for Research Libraries, this Website provides access to information about contemporary and historical South Asia – including full-text documents, statistical data, electronic images, cartographic representations, and pedagogical resources for language instruction.
An electronic platform for publishing and archiving academic literature in the field of South Asian studies. Contains a large collection of periodicals in the vernacular languages of India.
- Sacred Texts
Link to dozens of freely available online editions of sacred texts from the Eastern and Western religions, including (but not limited to) Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism, and Taoism.
Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture. Save groups of images for later use in ARTstor, or download or print to use in class projects, presentations, and papers. First-time users must register for an account from a computer on campus.
- Asia Studies Full-text Online
Full-text reports from research institutions covering 50+ countries in the Asian-Pacific region. Topics include business, government, economics, social issues, and the humanities.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu