Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

HY200/PA 250 Topics in History: Pre-Modern & Modern South Asia: Articles

Find Journals by Title

You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Find Journals. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles. 

Search These Databases & Indices for South Asia Information

Keyword Searching

Use the Search Generator from Northwest Missouri State University to help you create a keyword search. 

                        Using AND/OR/NOT (Boolean Search Operators)

AND

Use AND to focus search and combine different aspects of your topic.

Example: vegetarianism and environment
OR

Use OR to expand your search and find synonyms/related terms.

Example: global warming or climate change

NOT

Use NOT to exclude a word or phrase from your search

Example: emissions trading not United States

 

Additional Search Tips

"Phrase search"  - Use quotation marks (" ") to search for a particular phrase.

Example: "greenhouse gas emissions"

Truncation * - Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural.

Example: environment* (finds environments, environmental, environmentalist, etc.)

(Grouping/Nesting Keywords) - Use parentheses ( ) as a way to group all your search terms together.

Example: (climate change or global warming) and population growth

Find the Full Text

  Searches for
Full Text

If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.

Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan 

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic Search Complete
A great starting point for research in most humanities and social sciences disciplines.

ATLA Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion.

ipl2 Literary Criticism ipl2 is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment. The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science are involved in developing and maintaining the ipl2.

Dictionary of Literary Biography: Southeast Asian Writers
Information about the world's most influential literary figures. Each entry includes personal data, the author's principal works, and sources for further study.  [ 1st Floor North-Reference; Vol 348. Library Use Only]

Historical Abstracts
Coverage: 1967 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

JSTOR Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography  Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide.

Web of Knowledge
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Web of Knowledge differs from Web of Science by including other databases such as Medline
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu