Tutt Library Research Guides
Find What You Need Faster
Welcome to the South Asian studies resource guide. Here you will find multiple resources to start your research. Please choose from the topics in the tabs across the top of this window. Please do not hesitate to contact me or the other subject librarians if you need additional help.
Asian Studies -- the WWW Virtual Library
The Virtual Library: Asian Studies is a huge clearing house for electronic and other resources available for Asian studies. The extensive coverage includes sections on Bangladesh, Burma, China, Japan, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kashmir, Macau, Mongolia and many other countries and regions.
Digital South Asia Library
A project of the Center for Research Libraries, this Website provides access to information about contemporary and historical South Asia – including full-text documents, statistical data, electronic images, cartographic representations, and pedagogical resources for language instruction.
Digital Resources for Asia Studies -- Harvard College Library
Portal to Asian Internet Resources (PAIR)
PAIR provides a user-friendly, searchable catalog through which researchers and students have quick and easy access to high quality Web resources originating in Asia. The catalog includes freely available Internet resources for research and study of modern East, South, and Southeast Asia on a broad range of topics in the social sciences. Resources are from various sources including academic, government, commercial, trade and industry, and non-governmental organizations.
Sarai -- South Asian Resource Access
From Columbia University libraries.
Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs -- U.S. Department of State
Reports, country studies, and policy briefs for Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.
When the materials you want are not available in TIGER or Prospector, you can search WorldCat.
|1. WorldCat lists library holdings nationwide.|
|2. Requests require an ILL account.|
|3. Items usually arrive in 5-10 business days.|
Published on Oct 10, 2014 Pakistani teenager Malala Yousafzai, shot in the head by the Taliban two years ago for advocating girls' right to education, and Indian children's right advocate Kailash Satyarthi won the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize.
Pakistani Malala Yousafzai celebrates her 16th birthday on the day she speaks to United Nations' student delegates.
A rescue operation in Stone Quarries in Haryana. Bonded families from generations to generations were rescued by Kailash Satyarthi and BBA activist.
Youtube video from Knowledge for Power (49 minutes)
India is one of the oldest and richest civilizations in the world. It is home to the world's first planned cities, where every house had its own bathroom and toilet five thousand years ago. The Ancient Indians have not only given us yoga, meditation and complementary medicines, but they have furthered our knowledge of science, maths -- and invented Chaturanga, which became the game of chess.
Search Google to find keywords related to your topic.
Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.