Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


Poetry: Poetry Award Lists and Websites

Use this guide to learn more about poetry books, journals, genres, websites, internet publications, contests, awards, and much more...

A Selection of Nobel Award Winners' Books @ Tutt Library

For a chronological list of poets awarded the Nobel Prize with recognition for their poetry, scroll down past this selection of books.

Nobel Prize for Literature/Poetry

The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 106 times to 110 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2013.  The Literature prize is usually awarded for a writer's body of work, which may include fiction, essays, dramatic works, poetry, etc.  For a more complete list of Nobel Laureates in Literature and information about its history and the numerous other awardees, go to the official Nobel Prize Website.

Award-Winning Poetry @ Tutt Library

Nobel Poet Laureate Derek Walcott reads "Sea Grapes"

The 1992 Nobel Prize Laureate in Literature Derek Walcott reads his poem 'Sea Grapes' from "Collected Poems 1948-1984".

Nobel Poet Laureate Wole Soyinka reads "Lost Poems"

The 1986 Nobel Laureate in Literature Wole Soyinka reads his poem 'Lost Poems' from "Samarkand and Other Markets I Have Known". The video was recorded at Harvard University in April, 2005.

A Poem by Nobel Poet Laureate Czeslaw Milosz

"A Day so Happy" by 1980 Nobel Poet Laureate, Polish-American Czeslaw Milosz..  From The United States of Poetry episode "A Day in the Life."

Copyright Washington Square Arts, 1995.

Nobel Poet Laureate

Polish poet and 1996 Nobel Poet Laureate Wisława Szymborska (1923-2012) very rarely wrote the sentimental poetry common among her contemporaries. Even in a poem like "The End and the Beginning", however, she is not wholly cynical. Szymborska acknowledges both the horror of the speed at which the world forgets terrible events and is resigned to the idea the people, and generations must and do move on.

A Selection of National Book Award Winning Poetry Books

For a chronological list of winners of the National Book Award for Poetry, scroll down past this selection of books

The National Book Award for Poetry

Established in 1950, the National Book  Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit  organization.  In order to be eligible for the Award,  a book must be written by an American citizen and published by an American publisher between December 1 of the previous year and  November 30 of the current year.

National Book Award: Poetry
                    1950: Paterson: Book III and Selected Poems by William Carlos Williams
                    1951: The Auroras of Autumn by Wallace Stevens
                    1952: Collected Poems by Marianne Moore
                    1953: Collected Poems, 1917-1952 by Archibald MacLeish
                    1954: Collected Poems by Conrad Aiken
                    1955: The Collected Poems of Wallace Stevens by Wallace Stevens
                    1956: The Shield of Achilles by W.H. Auden
                    1957: Things of the World by Richard Wilbur
                    1958: Promises: Poems, 1954-1956 by Robert Penn Warren
                    1959: Words for the Wind by Theodore Roethke
                    1960: Life Studies by Robert Lowell
                    1961: The Woman at the Washington Zoo by Randall Jarrell
                    1962: Poems by Alan Dugan
                    1963: Traveling Through the Dark by William Stafford
                    1964: Selected Poems by John Crowe Ransom
                    1965: The Far Field by Theodore Roethke
                    1966: Buckdancer's Choice: Poems by James Dickey
                    1967: Nights and Days by James Merrill
                    1968: The Light Around the Body by Robert Bly
                    1969: His Toy, His Dream, His Rest by John Berryman
                    1970: The Complete Poems by Elizabeth Bishop
                    1971: To See, To Take by Mona Van Duyn
                    1972: Selected Poems by Howard Moss; Frank O'Hara
                    1973: Collected Poems, 1951-1971 by A. R. Ammons
                    1974: The Fall of America: Poems of these States, 1965-1971 by Allen Ginsberg
                              Diving into the Wreck: Poems 1971-1972 by Adrienne Rich
                    1975: Presentation Piece by Marilyn Hacker
                    1976: Self-portrait in a Convex Mirror by John Ashbery
                    1977: Collected Poems, 1930-1976 by Richard Eberhart
                    1978: The Collected Poems of Howard Nemerov by Howard Nemerov
                    1979: Mirabell: Books of Number by James Merrill
                    1980: Ashes by Philip Levine
                    1981: The Need to Hold Still by Lisel Mueller
                    1982: Life Supports: New and Collected Poems by William Bronk
                    1983: Selected Poems by Galway Kinnell
                              Country Music: Selected Early Poems by Charles Wright

                    1991: What Work Is by Philip Levine
                    1992: New & Selected Poems by Mary Oliver
                    1993: Garbage by A.R. Ammons
                    1994: A Worshipful Company of Fletchers by James Tate
                    1995: Passing Through: The Later Poems by Stanley Kunitz
                    1996: Scrambled Eggs & Whiskey, Poems 1991-1995 by Hayden Carruth
                    1997: Effort at Speech: New & Selected Poems by William Meredith
                    1998: This Time: New and Selected Poems by Gerald Stern
                    1999: Vice: New & Selected Poems by Ai
                    2000: Blessing the Boats: New and Selected Poems 1988-2000 by Lucille Clifton
                    2001: Poems Seven: New and Complete Poetry by Alan Dugan
                    2002: In the Next Galaxy by Ruth Stone
                    2003: The Singing by C.K. Williams
                    2004: Door in the Mountain  byJean Valentine
                    2005: Migration: New and Selected Poems by W.S. Merwin
                    2006: Splay Anthem by Nathaniel Mackey
                    2007: Time and Materials by Robert Hass
                    2008: Fire to Fire: New and Collected Poems by Mark Doty
                    2009: Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy by Keith Waldrop
                    2010: Lighthead by Terrance Hayes
                    2011:  Head Off & Split by Nikky Finney
                    2012: Bewilderment: New Poems and Translations by David Ferry

Find Information for Notable Literary Awards

Follow the links listed below to find out the details for Literature/Poetry/Arts Awards, including submission and judging criteria, and lists of past winners. 

A Selection of Pulitzer Prize Winning Poets' Books @ Tutt Library

For a chronological list of poets awarded the Pulitzer Prize for their poetry, scroll down past this selection of books.

Pulitzer Prize for Poetry

The Pulitzer Prize in Poetry is one of the six American Pulitzer Prizes that are annually awarded for Letters, Drama, and Music. It has been presented since 1922 for a distinguished volume of original verse by an American author, published during the preceding calendar year.


Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: