Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
A Poetry Treasure in Tutt Library's Special Collections
The first solo printing of Sappho’s poems. Abraham Vandenhoeck printed this book in Hamburg in 1733.
The book includes the ownership signature of Michael Wodhull (1740-1816), poet and translator of Euripides.
Fine Press Poetry in Special Collections
Casting Two Shadows
Call Number: PS3558.A8486 .C3 2010
Publication Date: 2010
In 2009, Regis University awarded Hayna an honorary PhD. Additional honors include a Colorado Fellowship in the Arts, the inaugural Golden Quill Award from the Friends of Pikes Peak Library District, and service as poet laureate for Colorado Springs. This collection was published when Hayna was 97 years old.
Call Number: PS3525.E7174 E33 1985
"Two hundred fifty copies were printed by letterpress on Arches text paper at the Yolla Bolly Press during September and October of 1985 ..."--Colophon. This is copy number 75
Call Number: PS3566.A32 F7 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Location: Spec Coll Rare. "The images are printed from polymer plates made here at the Press, the type is handset ATF Bulmer and Bodoni printed on Rives Lightweight paper."--Colophon. Japanese-style binding; Library has no. 33 of 60, signed by Ron Padgett. Gift of The Press at Colorado College
Manhattan : An Elegy, and Other Poems
Call Number: PS3553.L23 M3 1990
Copy number 30 of this edition, "... The second in a series of 'livres d'artistes' ... There are one hundred and thirty numbered copies, & ten unnumbered proofs, all of which have been signed by the author and the artist"
Call Number: PS3573.A4215 O5 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Fine Press Poetry at The Press at Colorado College
You'll find many Poetry Anthologies, Broadsides, Limited Edition Publications, Posters, and ephemera all published by the Press at Colorado College, featuring Colorado College professors, visiting poets and artists, and students from the Colorado College Book Arts program
"Bleuet" by Apollinaire
Apollinaire, Guillaume, 1880-1918
"Typeset by Dale Hobson. Designed & printed by Mark McMurray..."-- Colophon
"Printed on mouldmade and handmade papers with endpapers made from cut-up tactical pilotage charts and maps of the Middle East region. Sewn into Nepali handmade paper wrappers."
Tutt Library has no. 80 of an edition of 100, initialed by the designer.
Colorado College Special Collections, Colorado Springs, Colorado
From Special Collections: A Loooooong Poem by W.S. Merwin
A Ninja Press edition of W.S. Merwin’s
The Real World of Manuel Córdova (1995)
When stretched out, this accordion-style production measures fifteen feet long
Come See These Beautiful Items in Special Collections!
About Special Collections
Colorado College Special Collections maintains collections of rare books, special editions, manuscripts, and published and archival material on Colorado, Colorado Springs, and Colorado College.
- Rare Books and Special Editions. About 6,000 items, including about two dozen examples of early printed books, the Alfred R. Justice Chess Collection, the Charles Dickens Collection, a small but growing collection of artists’ books, and about 160 individual, original leaves from manuscript and printed books dating from the 10th to the 20th century.
- Manuscript Collections. More than 350 collections of personal papers, records, photographs, correspondence, diaries, and other unique materials originally belonging to a particular person or organization, usually connected to Colorado College or Colorado Springs, including the Helen Hunt Jackson Papers and the Colorado Springs Century Chest Collection.
- Ephemera Collections. Colorado Springs playbills and programs, Pikes Peak area tourist brochures, bumper stickers, Colorado restaurant and event menus, the Colorado College Zine Collection, and other printed materials.
- Colorado Collection. Nearly 12,000 books, periodicals, photographs, papers, and oral history materials focusing on the American West, especially Colorado Springs and the Pikes Peak region, including the Cobos Collection.
Meet the Curator
Want to read about New Acquisitions and more...?
Follow the Special Collections BLOG
Visit Special Collections
Open weekdays from 9:00 - noon; 1:00 - 5:00
Contact Special Collections
Search the Special Collections catalog.
Colorado Poets' Work in Special Collections
Colorado, the Southwest, and the American West
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu