Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Poetry & Poetics @ Tutt Library
The Teachers & Writers Handbook of Poetic Forms
Call Number: PN1042 .T43 1987
A reference guide to various forms of poetry with entries arranged in alphabetical order. Each entry defines the form and gives its history, examples, and suggestions for usage
Two Minds of a Western Poet : Essays
Call Number: PS3563.A7879 T88 2011
Publication Date: 2011
from the Poets on Poetry series, a recent book by the current Colorado Stae Poet Laureate
Listed are some possible keywords for a poetry search.
Indians of North America Poetry
Poetry, Modern 20th Century
Book Reviews & Online Resources
Book reviews can also be found in many databases, such as Academic Search and the MLA International Bibliography.
Most sources of scholarly articles also contain less scholarly reviews. Be aware of the requirements for your paper, and think critically about what you're reading!
Choice Reviews Online
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Coverage: 1500 - current. The definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies. Includes 13,000 poems in full text, and 250,000 poetry citations, in addition to commentaries, biographies, bibliographies, notes on form, and a glossary of prosodic terms.
Children's Literature Review
Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Biographical sketches and bibliographies of the poets, in addition to a wide selection of criticism. Part of Literature Criticism Online.
Washington Post Book Reviews
Book reviews and news about new books, best sellers, authors, literature, ... DC area books events, reviews and bookstores from the Washington Post
Literary Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Some Ways of Thinking about Poems and Poets
- Regionally: Poets from the Southeast, Southwest, British Islands
- Thematically: Poems about death, love, nature, God, conflict
- Temporally: Poets from the Harlam Renaissance, from World War I, from the Jazz Age
- Demographically: Black women poets, gay male poets, poets who are mothers
- Philosophically: Existential poets, Beat poets, Romantic poets, revolutionary poets
Use Tiger to find books & more at Colorado College
Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.
Use Prospector to request books & more from across Colorado
If you can't find a book, DVD, CD, or other item you need in Tiger, you can use Prospector to search libraries across Colorado and then request that they be sent to the Tutt Library circulation desk for you to check out here.
Find Journals by Title
You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Find Journals. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles.
Noteworthy Poetry in Tutt Library
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu