Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Poetry Websites & Resources
Academy of American Poets
The Academy of American Poets was founded in 1934 to support American poets at all stages of their careers and to foster the appreciation of contemporary poetry. To fulfill this mission, the Academy administers a wide variety of programs, including National Poetry Month (April), the largest literary celebration in the world; online educational resources providing free poetry lesson plans for high school teachers; the Poetry Audio Archive, and much more...
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations
The EServer Poetry Collection
The EServer is a digital humanities venture, based at Iowa State U, where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars gather to publish over 35,000 works free of charge.
The Haiku Society of America
The Haiku Society of America is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1968 by Harold G. Henderson and Leroy Kanterman to promote the writing and appreciation of haiku poetry in English
Library of Congress Poetry Resources
This website includes several national projects of the U.S. Poets Laureate, created during their terms and designed to increase the visibility and appreciation of poetry in the United States.
Hypertexts, e-poetry, and netcessary literature, a handy selection from Jessy Randall, curator of Special Collections at Colorado College.
The Poetry Archive
The Poetry Archive aims to bring the widest possible audience to the fullest possible range of English-language poetry being published around the world, and to complement that poetry with educational material of value both to the specialist and to the general reader. Based in the U.K., this archive includes poets from the U.S. and consists of audio recordings of poets' work.
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
PoetryPoetry: Audio Poems
The poems on PoetryPoetry are pre-recorded readings by the original artists.
Poets & Writers
A reliable source for articles on all aspects of the writing process and publishing, plus info on contacting authors, contests, deadlines, etc.
Walt Whitman Archive
This site includes correspondence, criticism, biographical information, rare audio clips, and much more...
Poetry Magazine Podcast
Monthly podcast by the Editors of Poetry Magazine with debates on current issues in the field, poems, and poetic themes.
Biographies of Writers
From the website Biographies Online, this webpage is one of many other categories, including actors, humanitarians, politicians, etc.
Exiled Writers Ink!
Browse an extensive list of writers from around the world who are currently living in exile in the UK due to their works. Biographical information about each author is included, as well as excerpts from their work in most cases
Internet Movie Database
For authors who have worked in film, a great resource.
Lannan Foundation Audio Archives
Listen to readings and conversations with contemporary poets and writers.
Lit Web: Author Biographies and Bibliographies
Over 500 author biographies, as well as selected bibliographies, and lists of top literary prizewinners.
Voices from the Gaps
Premier source of info on female writers of color.
National Public Radio - Poetry RSS
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu