Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Google Scholar can be used to find primary sources. Click on the arrow to the right of the search box to open the Advanced Scholar Search window.
Research Databases for High School Students
History Reference Center
Full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
MAS Ultra-School Edition
Specifically designed for high school students with full text of 500 periodicals, 350 reference books, 100,000 primary source documents, 84,700 biographies - plus over 235,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 290 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Science Reference Center
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student’s science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Project Gutenberg provides access to electronic texts of many works that are in the public domain.
Freely available primary sources, mostly English translations
Finding too many broken links? Try inputting a link into the Wayback Machine and specifying an older date; you may find what you were looking for.
Illustration from Historical description of the clothes and weapons of Russian troops, courtesy of Wikimedia Commons
Many primary source databases have browsing options:
- Time period
- Historical events
- Personal events
- Type of collection
- Place of publication
- Section of a newspaper
These websites contain millions of digitized books, some of which may be primary sources or English translations of sources. There is some overlap between the websites but each one has unique content.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu