Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

History Day: Colorado History

A resource for teachers and students to use for National History Day research

National History Day Information

Pikes Peak or Bust!

This 1954 documentary, produced by the Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce, promotes the Pikes Peak region as a tourist destination

Select Digital Collections

Colorado Historical Society This site offers online exhibits, information about Colorado archeology, and classroom materials for teachers.

Colorado State Archives Collections of historical records, governor's and digital archives, the Ludlow Massacre, and D-Day radio broadcasts.

Colorado State University Libraries More than 25 special topics for Colorado History along with Colorado State History resources and a digital archive.

Denver Public Library The Colorado History and Western History collections offer a total of nearly 100,000 historical images, photos, art, and documents.

Douglas County History Research Center (Douglas County Library) Archival material includes a history timelines, aerial photos, an oral history collection, and photo gallery.

Fort Collins History Collection This site offers digitized photos, maps, and museum artifacts in addition to online exhibitions about fashion, ethnic groups, and the legends of Larimer County.

Pikes Peak Library District Regional History and Geneology PPLD's digital photo archives houses images of Colorado Springs, the Pikes Peak region, Colorado, the Rocky Mountain West, and the Southwest, that were shot by photographers such as William H. Jackson, Laura Gilpin, Timothy O'Sullivan and Myron Wood. The collection is searchable by photographer, decade, and subject.

University of Colorado System Digital Library The diverse collection offers materials not found in other digital archives. Collections include Ben Gray Lumpkin Digital Folk Music, Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, historical hats adn headdresses, sheet music, and Colorado Architecture.

Statewide Directories

State of Colorado describes libraries, museums, and historical societies with links to each site.

CensusFinder.com provides brief descriptions of historical museums throughout Colorado with links to some of the sites.

Geneasearch.com lists historical and geneology societies statewide.

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu