Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

History Day: Images

A resource for teachers and students to use for National History Day research

Freely available on the Internet

Historical Cartoons

Copyright

The Fair Use clause of Copyright law allows you to use any photos or images you find as long as they are for educational purposes only and not for commercial gain. However, with any website or database, it's a good idea to look for a Creative Commons license checkbox so that you are sure you are welcome to use images you find.

Image

Pikes Peak Area Early View

Special Collections, Tutt Library, Colorado College, Colorado Springs, Colorado

 

Find Images: Books in Tutt Library

Tutt Library has a good collection of art books located in the Art Reading Room on the 2nd floor, near Special Collections. Books in this area have a call number starting with N. Books falling under the subjects of archaeology, photography, technology, etc. may be located elsewhere - be sure to check Tiger for call number and location.

Books can be scanned in color in the CatLab, in black and white at any copier/printer machine, or you can try taking a photo with a digital camera or smartphone.

Citing Images

Because images you find on databases or the Internet are the intellectual property of other individuals, you must cite your sources when you use images in your scholarly works, whether it be in a paper, a presentation, or art work you create.

Check whichever style guide you are using for proper citation format.

The citation should be accessible in the context of the image's use (within a Powerpoint presentation, on a web page, in a paper, etc.).

Image citations should include the following information:

  • Title
  • Creator name
  • Repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution)
  • Image source (database, website, book, postcard, vendor, etc.)
  • Date accessed

Sometimes not all of these pieces can be found, so you may only cite what you know, but you must make a good faith effort.

Museum Collections Online: A Selection

Online Map Websites & Resources (Southwest and U.S.)

Tutt Library Databases

Online Portals & Resources

Cartography Resources

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu