Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Browse Music Online
Music Online offers many ways to browse for music!
Streaming Media Databases, subscription (CC only)
Database of American Recorded American Music: DRAM
Streaming audio of CDs from New World Records. May misbehave off campus.
Films on demand
Documentary and educational films. Largely secondary source, but potentially useful as supporting media in a presentation.
Our Music Online collection includes American Song, Classical, Contemporary World Music, Jazz, Smithsonian Global Sound. Music can be browsed by time period, from Medieval to 21st century.
Freely available on the Internet
American Memory: Motion Pictures
Presidential inaugurations, ads, vaudeville, important historical events, and more. From the Library of Congress.
American Memory: Sound Recordings
Oral histories, dialect recordings, slave narratives, Native American music, and much more. From the Library of Congress.
Concerts, news broadcasts, readings, original music. From the Internet Archive.
Large database of free sound effects, founded and run by students from Universitat Pomepu Fabra Barcelona.
Moving Image Archive
Large collection of films, newsreels, broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, etc. From the Internet Archive.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Films on Demand @ Tutt Library
Films on demand
Hundreds of documentaries and educational films viewable as a whole or by segment. Register for an account to build playlists and set preferences. If you have trouble viewing from off campus, please contact the Reference Desk at x6662.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu