Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Research Databases for High School Students
History Reference Center
Full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
MAS Ultra-School Edition
Specifically designed for high school students with full text of 500 periodicals, 350 reference books, 100,000 primary source documents, 84,700 biographies - plus over 235,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 290 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Science Reference Center
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student’s science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Teaching with Primary Sources
Click on the humorous video for a discussion of how Stanford University developed "Beyond the Bubble" to assist assessments in history with primary sources.
Websites for Teachers (K-12)
Center for Civic Education
The Center for Civic Education is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization based in California. The Center’s programs are implemented with the assistance of a network of public- and private-sector organizations and educational leaders in every state and congressional district in the country and in more than eighty other countries, many of which are emerging and advanced democracies.
Columbia Gazeteer of the World
On of the first publications online from Columbia Universtiy Press is The Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online.
Dr. Seuss Went to War
Dr. Seuss, (Theodor Seuss Geisel, 1904-1991) was best known for his children's books, although he was also a life-long cartoonist. For two years, 1941-1943, he was the chief editorial cartoonist for the New York newspaper PM (1940-1948), and for that journal he drew over 400 editorial cartoons, which give a different perspective of WW 2 history.
Economics for Kids
Banks, bailouts, debt, the housing market, and the Dow Jones Industrial Average are in the news everyday. These are all pieces of what we call the economy, and making sense of it can sometimes be confusing. Scholastic News provides articles, word games, and more for kids ages 5-15.
Elementary School Economics
from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
FREE -- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
Free teaching resources from government agencies, including animations, photographs, primary maps and documents, and much more.
French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA)
A collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.
Gateway to 21st Century Skills
The Gateway has been serving teachers continuously since 1996 which makes it one of the oldest publically accessible U.S. repositories of education resources on the Web. The Gateway contains a variety of educational resource types from activities and lesson plans to online projects to assessment items.
In 2009, Justice Sandra Day O’Connor founded iCivics to reverse Americans’ declining civic knowledge and participation. Securing our democracy, she realized, requires teaching the next generation to understand and respect our system of governance. Today iCivics comprises not just our board and staff, but also a national leadership team of state supreme court justices, secretaries of state, and educational leaders and a network of committed volunteers.
KIDIPEDE: History and Science for Kids
Kidipede is a children's encyclopedia covering mainly history and science topics. Kidipede is entirely online; there is no print version.
A safe place where kids can create, share, and learn. The site has separate tabs for K-5, 6-8, and for teachers. Within these tabs are numerous links to reliable websites for art, math, science, social studies, etc.
Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
National Geographic Kids
An award-winning site that features colorful photos, reliable facts and information, interactive games, doumentary videos, and more...
Scholastic for Kids
Scholastic strives to present the clearest explanation of current affairs and contemporary thought, and to encourage literary appreciation and expression consistent with the understanding and interests of young people at all levels of learning.
Primary resources, digital collections, lesson plans, and more from the Library of Congress.
TeacherTube - Teach the World
Like YouTube--but with educational videos!
A project of the Southern Poverty Law Center to fight hate and promote tolerance. The website includes teaching kits, classroom activities, and a recommended resource guide. There is also a link to a Teaching Diverse Students Initiative, geared for school districts and college teacher education programs
TIME for Kids
TIME For Kids is a weekly classroom news magazine that motivates kids to read! Issues cover a wide range of real-world topics kids love to learn about - and it's the best nonfiction text you'll find! Our Digital Editions are the perfect supplement to your TIME For Kids print subscription, and they deliver a host of exciting features to help bring TIME For Kids to life.
Free, downloadable publications from the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization
WISE: Working to Improve Schools and Education
This website is a broad-based, social science study (from Ithaca College, NY) of U.S. education involving history, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, economics, and politics. Its focus is contemporary issues in education, emphasizing issues of equity, diversity, multicultural education, and the development of effective schools for ALL students and families.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Books & Materials for Teachers in Tutt Library
Links to Teaching Resources
How to Become President
Click the link for a colorful poster that illustrates the steps to becoming President of the United States
Research Databases for Kids
Middle Search Plus
For middle and junior high school students, with 140 full text titles (with Lexile reading level), as well as historical essays, 84,700 biographies, over 235,000 images, and 100,000 primary source documents.
Primary Search contains full text for over 80 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu