Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Full Text Articles
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (Tutt's bound periodicals)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Tutt Link FAQs
Create a Keyword List
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
- Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
- Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
- Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
- Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
- Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Databases for Science Journalism
Communication & mass media complete
Coverage: Early 20th century - current. Covers all areas of communication and mass media. Includes full text for over 200 titles and citations to research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. Some journals are indexed back as far as the early decades of the 20th century.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines.
Coverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
Coverage: 1972 - current. International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex. Upgraded to full text version in July 2017.
Coverage: 1887 - current. Comprehensive international database of psychology. Covers the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology.
Coverage: 1950 - current. Journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine.
Coverage: 1990's - current. Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Please note: we subscribe to a subset of the Annual Reviews, and may not have access to the earliest volume for each title.
Other Science Journalism Databases
History of science, technology and medicine
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
Encyclopedia of life sciences
Coverage: varies. Features signed, peer-reviewed entries covering cell, molecular, and structural biology, microbiology, genetics, neuroscience, and plant science.
Coverage: N/A. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes millions of citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. It is the public version of Medline and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the
names of popular authors.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu