Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Databases & Indexes
Journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, etc. that cover aspects of British history may be located in numerous databases other than those with a specific historical focus. Some potentially useful databases are listed below.
Access World News
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of about 2,800 full-text academic titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies. All are fully searchable.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index, a subfile of the Web of Knowledge database, provides unique access to the bibliographic information and cited references of items published in more than 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
BSECS British Society for Eighteenth Century Studies
Subscription required for some full-text access, but the site provides useful information and links to other sites.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
This is an important database for locating original 15th, 16th, and 17th century texts in a wide range of subjects such as English literature, history, linguistics, religion, the fine arts, and the history of printing.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Coverage: 1701-1800. Digitized copies of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Now incorporates new texts from ECCO part two.
Eighteenth-Century Book Tracker
Coverage: 1660-1850. Provides a clearinghouse for discovering and sharing links to eighteenth-century primary materials. Eighteenth-Century Book Tracker aims to build a database of bibliographically accurate records that link to freely-available texts online.
Humaninites International Complete
Coverage: 1929 - current. A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Coverage: 1200's-1930. Collection of dozens of indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Indexing coverage includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals. Government Documents Indices include indexes to: U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830.
South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
SAADA is an independent national non-profit organization working to create a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.
Use the Search Generator from Northwest Missouri State University to help you create a keyword search.
Using AND/OR/NOT (Boolean Search Operators)
Use AND to focus search and combine different aspects of your topic.
Example: vegetarianism and environment
Use OR to expand your search and find synonyms/related terms.
Example: global warming or climate change
Use NOT to exclude a word or phrase from your search
Example: emissions trading not United States
Additional Search Tips
"Phrase search" - Use quotation marks (" ") to search for a particular phrase.
Example: "greenhouse gas emissions"
Truncation * - Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural.
Example: environment* (finds environments, environmental, environmentalist, etc.)
(Grouping/Nesting Keywords) - Use parentheses ( ) as a way to group all your search terms together.
Example: (climate change or global warming) and population growth
Create A Keyword List
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
- Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
- Try the Search Generator from Northwest Missouri State University to help you create a keyword search.
- Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
- Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
- Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Google for Keywords
Search Google to find keywords related to your topic.
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track popular authors.
Find Journals by Title
You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Citation Finder.
If the title you're looking for is in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles.
Sign Up to Use Interlibrary Loan
Request the fulltext of articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) using ILLiad. Nearly 50 percent of articles arrive in 24-48 hours and are delivered electronially to your email!
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu