Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
from the WWI British Poster Collection
Dimensions of Original, 12" x 19-1/4"
David Allen & Sons Ld., Printer/Lithographer
Special Collections, Tutt Library,
Colorado College, Colorado Springs, Colorado.
British Empire 1850s
Useful Online Websites
18th Century Entertainment Ephemera
This collection comprises all 18th century Entertainment ephemera in the John Johnson Collection, Oxford University Libraries - Paybills, handbills, newscuttings and prints taken from the following sections: Theatre; London Play Places; Animals on Show; Circuses; Concerts; Dioramas; Entertainment folders; Exhibitions; Human Freaks; Magic and Mystery; Museums and Waxworks.
A Vision of Britain Through Time
"A vision of Britain between 1801 and 2001. Including maps, statistical trends and historical descriptions."
Provides links to many useful websites.
British Cartoon Archive
Tens of thousands of British cartoons, editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, going back two hundred years.
British History Online
Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, this digital library contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
British Library Integrated Archives and Manuscripts Search
One may use this website to search the main catalogs of the British Library's collection of Western manuscripts, covering handwritten documents of all kinds from pre-Christian, Classical, medieval and modern times.
British Library Online Exhibits
Excellent collection of online exhibits on diverse topics.
Cabinet Papers 1915-1979
Numerous full-text cabinet papers from the National Archives.
Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England, from the Norman Conquest, in 1066 to the year, 1803
Provides free access to the full text of all 36 volumes of William Cobbett's classic history of the English parliament from 1066-1803. These offer a fascinating insight into the historical proceedings of parliament, describing key debates, figures, events and political reforms and protests in both houses.
Fabian Society Online Archive
The Fabian Society started publishing tracts in 1884, and included in this site are most tracts up to 1997.
History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents
Selected primary documents up through the present day
Histpop - The Online Historical Population Reports Website
This collection of British Historical Population Reports "provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937 . . . . These 200,000 pages of census and registration material for the British Isles are supported by numerous ancillary documents from The National Archives, critical essays and transcriptions of important legislation which provide an aid to understanding the context, content and creation of the collection."
Internet Library of Early Journals
This is a collection of runs of at least 20 consecutive years of a) Three 18th-century journals: * Gentleman's Magazine; * The Annual Register; * Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society; b) Three 19th-century journals: * Notes and Queries; * The Builder; * Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
Irish History Online
Irish History Online is a guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It contains approximately 70,000 bibliographic records (December 2009).
The British Monarchy
The official website of the British Monarchy
The Old Bailey Proceedings Online Project
"The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts between 1676 and 1772. It allows access to over 197,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 2,500 men and women executed at Tyburn . . . ."
Timelines in British History (British Library)
This excellent British Library resource allows one to explore collection items chronologically, from medieval times to the present day. It includes a diverse combination of texts: those that allow glimpses of everyday life (handbills, posters, letters, diaries), remnants of political events (charters, speeches, campaign leaflets), and the writings of some of our best known historical and literary figures.
A site with numerous links to diverse aspects of Tudor history.
World War One Document Archive
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
Queen Elizabeth I
The Rainbow Portrait of Elizabeth I
British Empire Resources
The British Empire
This site is dedicated to analyzing the history of the British Empire: The triumphs, the humiliations, the good that it brought and the bad that it inflicted. Links include a Map Room, Timelines, Armed Forces, Biographies, and more
British Empire - Year 9 - SchoolHistory.co.uk
A teacher created site containing online games, lessons, links, etc.
British Empire Sites: Historvious
A comprehensive guide to British Empire historic sites with key information, directions and entry details for each site. Includes an interactive map.
Colonial Film Database
This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online.
Daughters of the British Empire
A national philanthropic 501(c)(3) American Society of women of British or British Commonwealth birth or heritage DBE membership is comprised of "a diverse group of ladies from many different backgrounds but with a common heritage and common philanthropic cause."
History in Focus: Empire
This BBCi History website, The British Empire, provides a number of useful essays and resources on the Britain's imperial and colonial history.
Order of the British Empire
from the official website of the British Monarchy. The Order of the British Empire recognises distinguished service to the arts and sciences, public services outside the Civil Service and work with charitable and welfare organisations of all kinds.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu