Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Thomas Hobbes in Tutt Library
Politics Related Databases
Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
HISTORICAL ARCHIVE 1843-2009. Digitized version of the famous magazine which has analyzed British and global affairs for 150+ years.
Indexes books, journal articles, conference proceedings about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Coverage: 1906 - current
International Historical Statistics
Online version of the 3 volume set contains key economic and social indicators for countries around the world. Coverage: 1750-2010.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Collection of authoritative reference works on Islam and global Islamic history, peoples and culture. Includes Quranic studies, timelines, maps, art, and learning resources. Coverage: varies. Limited to one simultaneous user.
An index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Much U.K. coverage
Political Science Complete
Political science database with a global scope. Contains full text for some journals, reference books, monographs and conference papers, in addition to abstracts and indexes for many journals. Coverage: 1887-current
Collection of dozens of indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Indexing coverage includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals. Government Documents Indices include indexes to: U.S. patents, 1790-1873 U.S. government publications, 1774-1881 British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830.
Allows searching across multiple ProQuest databases, plus easier searching by language, date, document type, full text, etc. Now includes American Periodicals; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archives; Index Islamicus; International Bibliography of Art (IBA); Political Affairs International (PAIS); ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times; Wall Street Journal; ProQuest ebooks (formerly ebrary and EBL).
Reader's Guide Retrospective
The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts. Coverage: 1890 - 1982.
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
Coverage: 1785-1985. Full text of The Times (London) provides access to full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
Who's Who on the Web
Since 1899, Marquis Who's Who publications has presented unmatched coverage of the lives of leaders and achievers from both the United States and around the world, and from every significant field of endeavor.
World News Connection
Limited to one maximum simultaneous user.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu