Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
- ARTstor Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication in 1842 to its last in 2003
- JSTOR use key-word search; a separate tab appears for found images (some in color)
- ProQuest Platform In Advanced Search, put in your search terms, then scroll to Document Type, and select/check "Illustration" and "Image/Photograph". ["Advertisement" might also show some amusing historical images as well]
Artstor's images include historic maps. Limit to "Geography" in the browse classification and then type in "map"
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Part of the Insight Collection, spectacular, large-scale images of historic maps
Consortium of libraries to preserve printed works digitally. Limitable to "maps."
World Wide Web Virtual Maps
One of the oldest (and perhaps the most amateurishly laid out!) collections of virtual maps. Still an excellent source.
from the WWI British Poster Collection @ Tutt Library
Dimensions of Original, 14-1/2" x 9-1/4"
Ser--ean Bros. Ltd., Printer/Lithographer
Special Collections, Tutt Library, Colorado College, Colorado Springs, Colorado
Museum Collections Online
Online Portals & Resources
American Library Association Digital Images Collections Guide
The ALA's collection of stable, legal and reliable image sites.
Christ Whitcomb's Art History Pages
More of a laundry list than an analyzed portal. Interesting stuff.
Finding Images on the Web (Tutorial from Boston University)
Topics include image copyright, downloading and inserting images, search engines, and image search engines. Selected image collections are grouped by category: advertisements, arts, clip art, education and visual literacy, history, illuminated manuscripts, lost art and looted artifacts, maps, people: pictures and portraits, photography, public domain, sciences, and various subjects.
The Reanimation Library is a small, independent presence library open to the public. It is a collection of books that have fallen out of mainstream circulation and been acquired for their visual content.
The Mother of All Art and Art History Pages--U of Michigan
A private art portal run though the U of M's auspices. Updated and large, including material culture and not simply art.
Web Gallery of Art
The internet archive's search portal of images.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu