Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

MU158/AS158 Experiencing Asia through Music & Art: Research & Writing Help

Online Bibliography and Literature Review Guides

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography from Cornell University.

Annotated Bibliographies by the Purdue University Online Writing Lab.

Literature Reviews from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Write a Literature Review from the University of California at Santa Cruz.

      Online Style Guides

      Complete list of online Style & Writing Guides 

      MLA (Modern Language Association)

      Chicago Manual of Style

      APA (American Psychological Association)

      AAA (American Anthropological Association)

      ASA (American Sociological Association)

      CC Writing Center

      The Writing Center, which is located in the Tutt Library Learning Commons, offers one-on-one tutoring. You can make an appointment online or by calling x6742.

      Research and Writing Guides

      See your  WORLD MUSIC HANDBOOK for specific instructions on bibliography and citations.


       

      Writing About Music: A Style Sheet

      ML3797 .W75 2008 (Music Library Reference)

      A guide confronting many of the tricky aspects of writing about this discipline:

      • how to describe music works and procedures in prose
      • Rules for running narrative, expository text
      • citations (notes, bibliography)
      • treatment of musical examples, tables, illustrations

      How to Write About Music-The RILM Manual of Style

      ML3797 .H69 2005 (Music Library Reference)

      RILM lays out policies and procedures for issues that confront every author of texts about music. It includes:

      • General elements of writing style that are commonly questioned
      • Issues frequently encountered by writers on music, thought not specifically musical in nature
      • Issues specific to music

      Q180.55 .M4 B66 2008
      • North Basement

      A Writer's Reference

      PE1408 .H335 2009

      • Reference
      • North Basement

      Research and Documentation Online by Diana Hacker is a comprehensive guide to writing, research, and citation for the Humanities, Social Sciences, History, and Sciences. The guide includes the following:

      • How to find and document sources
      • Tips for evaluating resources
      • List of style manuals
      • Samples of how to format papers


      Music Librarian

      Daryll Stevens's picture
      Daryll Stevens
      Contact:
      The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560
      Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu