Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Create a Keyword List
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
- Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
- Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
- Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
- Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Finding scholarly articles
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
When searching for scholarly articles, you are almost always best off using one of the library's subscription databases than you are simply searching the web. Google Scholar is a specialized Google search for academic and peer-reviewed material.
Of the databases listed below, JSTOR and Academic Search Compete cover virtually all academic subjects and contain mostly full-text articles (rather than just citations). If the topic of your paper is on an mathematician that heavily influenced another disipline, particularly one of the sciences, the more specialized databases, like ScienceDirect, or Web of Science are good options to search as well. Finally, to restrict your search to specifically mathematicians and mathematics, use MathSciNet, a search index databases (meaning the results are just citations and not full-text) from the American Mathematical Society.
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
Coverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Coverage: early 1800s - current. Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Originally based on Mathematical Reviews (MR).
TIGER will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.
The Prospector Catalog will help you find books and other items in other Colorado libraries which you can request and have sent to Tutt Library for you to use.
WorldCat can help you find books in libraries almost anywhere and request them via interlibrary loan.
Please ask a librarian if you need help with TIGER, Prospector, or WorldCat.
Mathematics Subject Classification
The American Mathematical Society uses a specialized vocabulary called Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) for catagorizing articles and books according to mathematical subject areas. Each scholarly work has one primary MSC and can have multiple secondary classifications. This may be helpful when searching topics related to the mathematician from your assignment.
In the MathSciNet database, you can search by primary and secondary MSC. The main website fro the MSC is available at http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/msc/msc2010.html.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu