Tutt Library Research Guides
Find What You Need Faster
This guide is intended to help you with music research for your course.
Use the tabs above to roam through this guide.
Start with gathering an overview of your topic!
You need to take a broad view of your topic, so you can grasp its depth, breadth, and historical context. This will help you refine your topic, enabling you to present an interesting argument for your presentation.
To help define your research topic, it often helps to consult some of the standard reference works and tools before searching for books, music materials, and journal articles.
A few hints to help you get started:
If your project considers music within geographical contexts, see the World Music courseguide for more information. Also, check out the resource below:
You'll see that you can combine/trade subheadings to select the span of time and topic of your search!
Note: SUBJECT HEADINGS often treat chronological periods as above…don’t use a span of time, e.g. 1900-2000.
If you are looking in the Tiger catalog for information on a musical genre, style, or topic such as trio sonata, madrigal or music technology, etc., the best way to find suitable headings is to look in the record of a good resource you pull up during a search.
Here's a good way to mine SUBJECT HEADINGS:
And, you can BROWSE THE SHELVES!
Libraries shelve like topics together; browsing will help you find something surprisingly useful that you may not have noticed in the catalog. Try the following call number ranges in both libraries:
For composer's biographies:
To see the complete list of music call numbers visit M is for Music!
To find articles on your topics see the MUSIC DATABASES and FIND ARTICLES pages above.
A dictionary of music, with brief and extensive explanation of terms. Some articles have bibliographies.
Short bios of composers, some including short lists of works and writings, including entries for jazz and pop composers.
Multimedia dictionary of music with sound files and musical examples.
"provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites."
A librarian’s choice of the best of the Web. Lots of annotated links to other sites.