Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Federal Government Databases and Search Engines: Consumers-Citizens

General

CONSUMER.GOV – links to all types of consumer information including money management, product safety, avoiding fraud

Consumer Guides and Protection - A to Z list

Consumer Protection - practical information on a variety of consumer topics

Consumer Search - researchers review and rank top-rated products in 13 categories

Business and Work

BUSINESS.GOV - guide to all business-related information on federal state and local government websites, including business startup, advertising, law and licensing, financing, government contracting, import/export, etc.

 


TAXES - individuals and businesses

FORMS.GOV - Access to federal tax, small business, social security, veterans benefits, and FEMA forms.

The Internal Revenue Service - Tax forms and Instructions for individuals and businesses.


 

FINANCE & WORK

ECONSUMER.GOV – a joint project of the consumer protection agencies from 21 different countries and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

Bankruptcy Basics - "information on different aspects of the federal bankruptcy laws," "a basic explanation of the different chapters under which a bankruptcy case may be filed and ... answer[s] some of the most commonly asked questions

MYMONEY.GOV – budgeting, taxes, credit, financial planning, saving and investing, fraud and scams

USAJOBS.GOV – searchable database for job vacancies within the federal government

Crime

Office of Victims of Crime - assistance to victims along with training and techinical assistance, announcements, notes of granst and funding opportunities etc.

Health

MEDLINEPlus - consumer health information

Nutrient Database - food composition databases to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data

Daily Med: Current Medication Information - information about marketed drug

Health Savings Accounts - publications "created by the Medicare bill signed by President Bush on December 8, 2003 and are designed to help individuals save for future qualified medical and retiree health expenses on a tax-free basis;" FAQ, a brochure (in English and Spanish), fact sheets, tax resources, and related publications. (Treasury Department)

Medical Information Bureau: Consumer file - a nationwide specialty consumer reporting agency under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act

Hospital Compare - information on how well the hospitals care for all their adult patients with certain conditions or procedures

DISABILITY.GOV -  programs, benefits, services and laws related to disabilities. Links to state and local resources. Nine major topics include employment, education, housing, transportation, health,  benefits, technology, community life and civil rights.

HEALTHFINDER.GOV – Tips and Tools to keep you healthy. Physician locators.

AirNow - index for reporting daily air quality - how clean or polluted the air is and associated health effects; calculates the AQI for five major air pollutants regulated by the Clean Air Act: ground-level ozone, particle pollution (also known as particulate matter), carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, and nitrogen dioxide

Drinking Water Information - local information

Home

HOME & SAFETY

wwww.DTV.GOV – digital Television 

DoNotCall.GOV – sign up for the national “Do Not Call” registry, to protect yourself from telemarketers. 

SAFERPRODUCTS.GOV - reports of harm or risk therein for consumer products.

WWW.READY.GOV – maintained by the Department of Homeland Security this website contains information for preparedness for natural disasters.

Household Products Database - what's in products, potential health effects, safety and handling

Consumer Handbook on Adjustable Rate Mortgages, (ARM) - this fact sheet explains adjustable rate mortgages loans for which "the interest rate changes periodically, usually in relation to an index, and payments may go up or down accordingly." Includes questions to consider, consumer cautions, ideas for reducing risk associated with ARMs, a glossary, and a mortgage checklist for comparing different types of mortgages; also in Spanish. (Federal Reserve Board)

National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators, (NAUPA) - unclaimed property database maintained by state governments

Travel

Air

Air Travel Prohibited Carry-On Items - updated list (Transportation Security Administration)

Auto

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu