Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Federal Government Databases and Search Engines: Business

Agencies of Note

Securities & Exchange Commission - information about companies filed with the SEC, includes EDGAR Database

Fed in Print: an Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research - gateway to FRB publications or view Federal reserve Banks map - get to the 12 districts for information; many have links to the publications full-text

Small Business Administration - starting and financing your business, opportunities, etc.

Treasury Department - accounting, budget, markets, international, etc.

Banking - FDIC information and reports, historical statistics, and more

Portals

BEOnline Plus - select online business resources in 88 categories: accounting, business plans, e-commerce, demographics, data sets, directories, standards, etc. (Library of Congress)

Business.gov - SBA partnering with 21 federal agencies for compliance documents and resources; see section for starting, managing, contracting and workplace safety or information on specific industries

Statistics

Bureau of Economic Analysis - national, regional, indurstry and intermational stats (Commerce Dept.)

Economic Indicators, 1995- (FDsys)

Economics and Statistics Administration - various commonly used economic indicators

County Business Patterns for the U.S. and every State; search by state, zip code or metro areas.
   - older edition available at Docs C 3.204/3-#:

U.S. Import/Export History 1989- to launch database and Import/Export Price Indexes

Employment Statistics - Bureau of Labor Statistics

Federal Reserve Bank's FRASER -(Archival System for Economic Research) and FRED (economic time-series database)

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants - Green Book, U.S. economic and military assistance to other countries: data given in historical (current) and constant dollars. Search by country or program. Default setting is ten year cumulations with individual years for the past five. Use custom setting to select one country for individual years, 1946 to present.

Macroeconomic Time Series Data Source Locator - international historical macroeconomic statistics (University of Chicago Library)

Other Libguides to check

Industry Codes

NAICS - North American Industry Classification System

SIC - Standard Industrial Classification Codes

Minority

Office of Women's Business Ownership - OWBO assists women achieve their dreams and improve their communities by helping them start and run successful businesses,(US Small Business Association)

Women-Owned Business Economic Research - Compilation of research studies on women-owned businesses, covering topics such as business ownership rates, women-owned sole proprietorships, venture capital in women-led firms, and more; includes documents back to 1995. (US Small Business Association, Office of Advocacy)

International

Doing Business - World Bank resource for comparing business regulations, data and reports

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu