Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
By Subject at Tutt
Need help doing research?
Colorado libraries (+UWY) union catalog
catalog for historical and current publications with links to those that are available online
Library of Congress Catalog
- records for books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials
- books and serials starting with 1898 and 1980
NARA's Archival Research Catalog
search keyword, digitized image and location searches; or by organization, person, or topic for NARA holdings, Regional Archives, and the Presidential libraries.
Union catalog of libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to see what libraries have the item and to order items through Interlibrary Loan.
CyberCemetery – “permanent public access to the electronic web sites and publications of defunct US government agencies and commissions”
Memory Hole – 300+ rescued Congressional Research Service Reports that were pulled from the Web – fact-filled reports on current and hot issues
Wayback Machine – Internet archive – useful but is hit or miss
Verified User Databases
Can use in the library; must have Colorado College account to access outside of library.
- AGRICOLA, 1982 - current
- Agriculture and allied disciplines; plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources; economics, engineering, products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
- Congressional Indexes 1789-1972
- Congressional and legislative information; members of congress including voting records, addresses, etc.
- CQ Library, 1991 - current
- Current and controversial issues with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- CQ Voting And Elections Collection
- An elections database covering presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections, campaigns, political parties, voters and demographics; historical and modern data, analyses of elections and voting behavior, explanations of electoral process and reforms, census and district demographics, key events and issues, and much more
- ERIC Database
- Bibliographic records of journal articles and education-related materials
- GeoRef, 1785 - current
- A comprehensive geoscience database covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.
- Historical Statistics Of The United States, 1600s - current
- Annual time series of the U.S. population, economic indicators, social conditions, and government. From colonial times to the present.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
- Collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents - U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, local agencies and state agencies
- Inter-University Consortium For Political And Social Research
- Provides large data sets such as public opinion polls, attitude surveys, health information, results of research projects. Data may require use of specialized software such as SPSS or SAS.
- LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe1977 - current
- Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles.
- 19th Century Masterfile, 1200's-1930
- Collection of dozens of indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Indexing coverage includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906; Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals; U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; and British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830. Indexing also books, newspapers and periodicals. Links to full text in other databases, HathiTrust and Google Books.
- OECD ILibrary, 1967 - current
- Books, journals, working papers, statistics, and glossaries published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development; search by country, theme, date, content type, and more; exportable data tables and graphs
- PAIS International, 1915 - current
- Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
- World development report, 1978 - current
- Published annually by the World Bank, these reports address various issues pertinent to the changing development landscape.