Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
TIGER: books, e-books, government documents, special collections materials, music and films
- at CC's Tutt and Sealy Music Libraries
Prospector: collections of 22 regional libraries
- Delivery in 3-5 business days
Political Science videos via Films of Demand
- committed to keeping our nation safe and expanding opportunity for every American; wealth and status should not be an entitlement to rule and that each of us has an obligation to each other
Best Bets for Databases
Political Science Complete
Coverage: 1887-current. Political science database with a global scope. Contains full text for some journals, reference books, monographs and conference papers, in addition to abstracts and indexes for many journals.
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Coverage: late 1800's - up to most recent years; can limit to political journals.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Coverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection (so not all) of core scholarly titles; current and back issues; may limit to political journals.
Coverage: Nov. 1991 - current. This weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Homeland security digital library
Coverage: N/A. Collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents - U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, local agencies and state agencies.
America, History and Life
Coverage (articles published): 19th century to present.Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
Coverage: 1972 - current. International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex. Upgraded to full text version in July 2017.
NBER working paper series
Coverage: November 1994 - current. NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) working papers focus on empirical research such as the development of new statistical measures, effects of public policy on U.S. economy, and estimating quantitative models of economic behavior. The papers are searchable by subject and available fulltext.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Coverage: 1200's-1930. Collection of dozens of indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Indexing coverage includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals. Government Documents Indices include indexes to: U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830. Indexing also books, newspapers and periodicals. Links to full text in other databases, HathiTrust and Google Books.
International Look at the USA
Ciao: Columbia International Affairs Online
Coverage: varies. Journal articles and papers relating to International Affairs.
Coverage: 1915 - current. Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
Coverage: 1967 - current. Books, journals, working papers, statistics, and glossaries published by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Users can search by country, theme, date, content type, and more. The OECD FactBook is available from 2005 to current, with data tables and graphs that can be exported to Excel. This database was formerly known as SourceOECD.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.
Newspaper Source Plus
Coverage: 1969 - current. Full text for major U.S., regional U.S. and international newspapers, as well as full text transcripts from television and radio news. Upgraded to Newspaper Source Plus in July 2017.
Wall Street Journal
Coverage: 1984 - current /Daily business/financial and political news and reports with global coverage.
covers news sources with tabs for Colorado, USA, International, Historical and Current
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu