Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Advancement: US, International & Current News

Databases for U.S. Newspapers

Specific US Newspapers

Atlanta Constitution -

  • Online: Nexis Uni provides text coverage from 1991 – present.

Chicago Tribune

  • Online: Nexis Uni provides current text coverage from March 1, 2002 – present.

Los Angeles Times

  • Online:
    • Current (most recent six months): Nexis Uni
    • Website (current articles available for limited time; CC faculty, students, and staff should use options above for older articles (don’t pay for access on latimes.com!)): http://www.latimes.com/

New York Times

  • Online:
    • Current (1980 – ): Nexis Uni
    • Website (current articles available for limited time; CC faculty, students, and staff should use the options above for older articles (don’t pay for access on nytimes.com!); free registration required: http://www.nytimes.com/
  • In Tutt Library (1852 – ):
    • Current issues kept until replaced by microfilm. See TIGER catalog record for details. 
    • Paper index (1851 – ) is located behind the newspapers on the second floor. 

USA Today

Wall Street Journal

  • Online:
  • In Tutt Library (1981 – )
    • Current issues of the Western Edition are kept in paper until replaced by microfiche of the Eastern Edition. See the TIGER catalog record for details.
    • Paper index (1981 – ) is located behind the newspapers on the second floor.

Search Tips for Newspaper Databases

Most newspaper databases will let you limit your searches by

  • Date range
  • State or region
  • Type of material or section of the paper (articles, editorials, ads, etc.)

Databases for International Newspapers

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu