Tutt Library Research Guides
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the names of popular authors.
Use this resource to locate background and specific information on specific types of music (search by the name of the composer if you know it, or by the genre of music). Contains good bibliographies and links to other Internet resources. Provides sources on classical music, ethnomusicology, opera, jazz, and much more…
Scroll down to find title
Use this resource to gather citations to national/international journal articles, book reviews, etc, with an extensive coverage of music topics. It contains access to over 700 music journals; many of them will have links to full text you can print.
RILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more (see a complete list of document types). Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries, from Albania to Zimbabwe. Articles in many languages with English titles. Not full text, but very comprehensive coverage-articles may be linked to other sources for full text-otherwise you can order through interlibrary loan. Try this!
JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with many music titles. It's a great place to find full-text scholarly articles. Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues). It's best not to limit your search to music journals; you will find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines.
If you are doing some interdisciplinary work involving music, you may want to check out suggested databases for other disciplines.
Also, check out Academic Search Complete. Coverage: 1865 - current. It's a large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad. If you click on Choose Databases at the top of the search fields you can select many database to search at once.
Streamed Audio Databases
Streamed audio databases provide sound recordings 24/7 on and off campus. These include:
The Music Library also has a large CD collection; you'll find many musical genres available for checkout.
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.