Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Early Government Documents: Docs @ Tutt

Publications from the Tutt Collection along with links to core documents.

FDLP Collection at CC

   Government Documents "Older Series of Note"

Colorado College, established as a Federal Depository Library and participated in that program since 1880, has a solid historical collection of government publications dating back to 1774.

Annual Reports

For most department, the SuDocs is “1.1s"

ex. A 1.1:, I 1.1:, SI 1.1:, etc.

In the main stacks or in the microfiche cabinets.
Note that some only appear in the Serial Set.

Select Documents of Note

Docs Enclosed Location: Early U.S. Government Documents

The Documents Enclosed Area contains early publications of the US federal government, up to about 1915. It is located at the north-west end of the stacks in Tutt South basement. This section is locked. Please ask at the reference desk help in retrieving the documents you want. Search the TIGER catalog for more detailed information on holdings and for call numbers.

Note that the more recent publications, especially those in series, are located in the general government stack locations.

Surveys

Hayden and Powell Surveys of the West (short title)

  • Hayden, F.V. at I 18.1:
  • Powell, John Wesley at I 17.6:
  • Exploration of the Colorado River of the West at SI 1.2:C 71

Wheeler and King Surveys of the West (short title)

  • King, Clarence at W 7.10
  • Wheeler, George M. at W 8.5

Pacific Railroad Survey (short title)

  • Serial Set nos. 760-768 (Senate copy)
  • Serial Set nos. 791-800 (House copy)
  • W 7.14: nos. (War Department copy)
  • Maps from map volume are separate in deeper shelves at the beginning of the enclosed area.

Older Series by Department

Agricultural Department

  • Bulletins, A 1.3:1 –
  • Circulars, A 1.41:1 –
  • Yearbook of Agriculture, A 1.10:1895 –
  • North American Fauna series, A 5.5:1 – 56
  • Forest Service Bulletins, A 13.3:1 –
  • Forest Service Circulars, A 13.4:1 –
  • USDA Soil Surveys, A 26.5:1900 – and later call numbers
  • USDA Wealth Bureau, A 29.1:1892 –

Commerce, Trade, and Treasury materials

  • Foreign Commerce of the U.S. and Economic Reports of other countries, 1920’s, C 18.26: and C 18.27:
  • Federal Antitrust Decisions, 1890–1931, J 1.2:An 8/3/v. #
  • Commercial Relations of the U.S., 1858–1902, S 4.1:
  • (Treasury) Finance Report, 1815 – , T 1.1:
  • Report of the Comptroller of the Currency, T 12.1:1884–1927
  • Statistics of Income – Business and Personal, T 22.35:1930–
  • Weather materials, C 30.25:1940– and C 30.71/5: and C 55.195:

Patents and Trademarks

  • Annual Report of the Commissioner of Patents, Docs Enclosed I 23.1: and C 21.1:
  • Index of Patents, C 21.5/2:1933 –
  • Index of Trademarks, C 21.5/3:1927 –

Defense & War materials

  • Revolutionary Diplomatic Correspondence, 1775-1785, Docs Enclosed Z 2.4
  • Navel Documents of the American Revolution, D 207.12:
  • Official Army Registers, 1815-1893, Docs Enclosed W 3.11 and W 3.12
  • War Department Annual Reports, W 1.1:1913 –
  • U.S. Army in the World War, 1917–1919, M 103.9:
  • World War II Histories, D 114: and D 301.82:
  • Japanese Relocation Monographs, WWII, Docs Enclosed I 52.2:
  • International Military Tribunal (Nuremberg Trials), M 105.2:
  • Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression, W 1.2:
  • U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey, W 1.71:1940’s
  • Roll of Honor (soldiers buried in national cemeteries), W 39.7:1866–1871 and W 39.8:
  • Documents of Disarmament, AC 1.11/2:1945–1986

Health

  • Public Health Bulletins, T 27.12:1900 – 1939
  • Public Health Reports, 1939 – FS 2.7: (and later call #s)
  • Vital Statistics of the U.S. Mortality Statistics, C 3.40:1909-1936, C 3.139:1937-1944 (later FS and HE)

Education

  • Current material is ED, FS for older material starting in 1945–
  • Report of the Commissioner of Education, I 16.1:1878–1912

Indian Affairs

  • Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1873–1920, I 1.1
  • Report on Indian Affairs, 1875–1908, I 20.1:

Interior Department & USGS

  • (USGS) Annual Reports, 1880-1949, I 19.1:
  • (USGS) Bulletins, 1883–1950, I 19.3:# (1-967)
  • (USGS) Monographs, 1890–1929, I 19.9:# (complete series)
  • (USGS) Professional Papers, 1902–1958, I 19.16:v. 1-299
  • Official Register of the U.S., I 1.25:1863–1905 and C 3.10:1909–1932
  • Public Lands, I 21.5:1882–1927
  • Bureau of Reclamation (western water and dams), I 27.1:1902–1949
  • Yellowstone and Yosemite National Park Report, 1877–1912, I 29.6:
  • Statistics of Railways in the U.S., IC 1 ste.1:1888–1902

Labor Department

  • Report of the Commissioner of Labor, 1889– , L 1.1
  • Bulletins, 1890–1917, Docs Enclosed L 2.3:v.1 – 199
  • Children’s Bureau, Docs Enclosed L 5.20
  • Women’s Division, L 13.3:1918- (and other later call #s)
  • Immigration Bureau, Docs Enclosed L 3.7:

Library of Congress

  • Catalog of the Library of Thomas Jefferson, LC 1,2:J 35/51
  • Annual Report of the Library of Congress, LC 1.1:1902-
  • Copyright Decisions, LC 3.3/2:1789 – 1985

Smithsonian Institution

  • Several series, 1800’s to early 1900’s, Docs Enclosed SI
  • Annual Report of the Smithsonian, SI 1.1:1853- and SI 3.1:

State Department

  • Messages and Diplomatic Correspondences, Docs Enclosed S 1.1:
  • Foreign Relations of the United States, 1862–1899, Docs Enclosed S 1.1:

Transportation

  • Life Saving Service (disasters and accidents on waterways) T 24.1:1876–1914

Congress

  • Selective Service Regulations, 1940’s, Y 3.Se 4:6/
  • WPA Reports, Y 3.W89/2: Congress #
  • American Archives, 1774-76 (colonial affairs and the American Revolution) Docs Enclosed
  • Secret Journals of the Acts and Proceedings of Congress from the first meeting thereof to the dissolution of the confederation, 1775-1788 Docs Enclosed
  • See tabs under US Legislation - Congressional Debate titles and Serial Set

Avalon Project

Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

18th Century Documents

18th Century Documents : 1700 - 1799. An Act for the Gradual ...

The Nuremberg War Crimes ...

Contents of The Nuremberg Trials Collection ... of German Major ...

20th Century Documents ...

Act of Chapultepec; March 6, 1945 · Agreement Between the ...

Major Document Collections

Major documents collections from pre-18th century to present day ...

19 th Century Documents

1700 - 1799 · 19 Century 1800 - ... 19th Century Documents ...

World War II : Documents

Text of documents, including
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu