Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Early Government Documents: American Revolution at Tutt

Publications from the Tutt Collection along with links to core documents.

Critical Documents

American Archives, 9 volumes
Docs Enclosed

  • Intended to form a documentary history from the beginning through the ratification of the Constitution. Incomplete due to the failure of Congress to appropriate adequate funds.
  • Period covered is March 7, 1774 to December 31, 1776.
  • Each volume has its own index.

Revolutionary Diplomatic Correspondence of the US edited by Francis Wharton. 1777-1784. 6 volumes
Docs Enclosed

  • The index at the end of volume 6 gives access by subject and personal name.
  • Introductory information in volume 1 is also helpful

Secret Journals of the Acts and Procedures of Congress from the first meeting thereof to the dissolution of the confederation, 4 volumes
Docs Enclosed

  • No index – use Poore Docs Index, KF 12.P66 1885
Volume 1 Domestic Affairs 1775-1788
Volume 2 Foreign Affairs 1775-1781
Volume 3 Foreign Affairs 1781-1786
Volume 4 Foreign Affairs 1775-1788


Journals of the Continental Congress 1774-1779, 34 volumes
Docs Enclosed

  • Index volume is shelved at the end of the series.

Papers of the Continental Congress 1774-1779
Docs Microfiche

  • Shelved at the end of the government microfiche.
  • The paper index to this collection is on top of the microfiche cabinet.

Index

Poore, Ben P. A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, Sept. 5, 1774 – March 4, 1881. Docs Index, KF 12.P66 1885

  • Subject – use the index in the back of the book.
  • Chronological access is the way the entries are arranged.
  • Most useful as and index to the Secret Journals of the Acts …

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

  • Coverage: 1200's-1930.
  • Collection of dozens of indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930.
  • Indexing coverage includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals.
  • Government Documents Indices include indexes to: U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830. Indexing also books, newspapers and periodicals. Links to full text in other databases, HathiTrust and Google Books.

Grants

Grants.gov: Search Opportunities

Search full-text; active or archived documents; or by funding opportunity, date, CFDA number, category, funding instrument type, eligibility, or agency to find federal funding opportunities.

Select Documents

Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols, and Agreements Between the United States of America and Other Powers, 1776-1949. 12 volumes, Docs S 9.12/2:

  • It is RED – shelved before the blue treaty series.

Documents Illustrative of the Formation of the Union of the American States. Docs Serial Set 8573

Secret Journals of the Acts and Proceedings of Congress from the first meeting thereof to the dissolution of the confederation, 1775-1788. 4 volumes, Docs Enclosed KF 4505.C66   

Biographical Directory of the American Congress, 1774-1971. Docs Serial Set 12938

Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1994-1789. Docs LC 1.34:vol #

  • Supplements the Journal of the Continental Congress.

Letters From a Distinguished American. Docs LC 1.2:Ad 1

  • Letter of John Adams discovered by the Library of Congress in foreign newspapers published during the time of the Revolution.

English Defenders of American Freedom, 1774-1778. Docs LC 1.2:En 3/774-78

  • Six pamphlets attacking British policy.

A Decent Respect to the Opinions of Mankind. Docs LS 1.2:Op 3

  • State papers which the Congress issues before July 4, 1776 to explain the controversy between the American colonies adn Great Britain

Naval Documents of the American Revolution. Docs D 207.12:vol

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.
Ref HA 202.H57; Docs C 3.134/2:H62/970 and online Historical Statistics Of The United States

Flag

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu