Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

HS 541: Arts and Humanities Institute: Music and the Mind: Getting Started, Popular Music

Way Cool! Live Music Archive

 Internet Archive's Live Music library. etree.org is a community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format. The Internet Archive has teamed up with etree.org to preserve and archive as many live concerts as possible for current and future generations to enjoy.

 

 

Looking for a popular artist?

If you want to find performances or works by an artist, perform an AUTHOR search in the Tiger catalog.  This will bring up our holdings of anything she has created (scores, recordings, writings, etc).

If you want to find out about a popular musician, perform a SUBJECT search. Everyone is a SUBJECT!

IMPORTANT!!  You must use the convention of Last Name, First Name when using AUTHOR or SUBJECT searches!

  You can limit your search in the following ways:

  • VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION-you'll bring up scores, recordings, videos, and any books, or chapters in books, etc. about your performer.
  • MUSIC LIBRARY-you'll bring up everything located in the Music Library-mainly scores and audio/video recordings.
  • AUDIO/VIDEO-you'll bring up any audio/video recordings available in both libraries

Try the above techniques as you search for works by and information about Miles Davis.

Many contemporary performers have websites with sound files and biographical information.

Generally....

  • You'll find books about music in Tutt Library.
  • You'll find music works (scores, media) in the Music Library.

Browsing Shelves-Ah, Serendipity!

BROWSE THE SHELVES!--You'll find sources you weren't expecting!

Libraries shelve like topics together; browsing will help you find something surprisingly useful that you may not have noticed in the Tiger catalog. Try the following call number ranges in both libraries (althought Tutt is your best bet):

  • ML102 .P Popular music Bio-bibliographies
  • ML3508-9 Popular music.
  • ML420 Biographies of popular musicians are located here, A-Z, by last name....so if you're looking for Elvis Presley, check in ML420 under the Ps.

Libraries also shelve similar types of musical works together.  Search for these in the Music Library.

  • We have a limited collection of popular music  scores. It's difficult to find these by browsing.  Ask a librarian for help.
  • Popular music Audio/Video recordings are generally shelved by last name of the performer. Ask a staff member for permission to browse this collection.

I can't find it in Tiger!

You can use Prospector to widen your search, including items that aren't owned by CC libraries or are checked out.

  • Access to materials (scores, books, CDs, DVDs, etc.) throughout Colorado and Wyoming
  • Materials arrive in 3-5 business days

To further extend your search, use WorldCat.  This is often the best way to find obscure items. Items typically arrive within 2 weeks.  Materials you find inside Colorado are better ordered through Prospector.

Music Library Services

Best Bets

Best Bets for your assignments:

  • Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Part of the Oxford Music Online suite.
  • RILM- covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more (see a complete list of document types). Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries, from Albania to Zimbabwe.  
  •  Music Index-comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. Excellent organization of topics due to great subject indexing!
  • Groves Music Online. Part of the Oxford Music Online suite, this is the most important English-language resource for music. Use this resource to locate background information on musical instruments, peoples, and regions or nations.  Includes articles on jazz. Contains excellent bibliographies, illustrations,links to related articles within Groves, and links to other Internet resources. Includes some articles from the upcoming second edition of the Groves Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments..
  • Music Online-Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. You can search these databases simultaneously, using this product:  American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libaries. 
  • Academic Search Complete-Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
  • JSTOR-is a scholarly journal archives with many music titles.  Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues).  It's best not to limit your search to music journals; you'll find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective-Coverage: 1890 - 1982. The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts.
  • Alternative Press Index-Coverage: 1969 - current. Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.
  • ACO-Academic Charts Online-International Popular Music.  Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button.Over 60 years of popular music data. A single search of international charting albums and singles under exclusive academic licence from Billboard, the Official Charts Company.
  • Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present Coverage: 1700 - 2006. Black Thought and Culture contains 1,200+ sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes non-fiction works, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Also includes the Black Panther newspaper from 1967-1980. Allows for advanced browsing and searching.
  • Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online Coverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection of core scholarly titles from John Hopkins University. Offers current and back issues.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Coverage: 1800's - Provides complete, full-image access to historical articles from the Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times from 1881 and the New York Times from 1851. For current online articles use Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
  • Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. This growing collection includes over 2,812 albums, equaling 41,082 tracks.

These resources are a great way to

  • Brainstorm ideas
  • Narrow an existing topic
  • Glean keywords for catalog and database searches
  • Leverage bibliographies for the next stage of your research

    

Searching the Tiger catalog

 

SUBJECT HEADINGS are a great way to widen your search, leading you to information about a musical-not just a score or recording of a musical.

The best way to find suitable headings is to look in a record you pull up during a search.

 Here's a good way to mine SUBJECT HEADINGS:

  • Start with a WORD search first, selecting VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION.
    • NOTE:  you can also search by TITLE or AUTHOR, select different collections-then use the same process below.
  • When you find something useful...scroll down and take a look at the SUBJECT HEADINGS ...click on those that interest you, to extend your search. (will broaden or narrow your search)
  • A WORD search will usually reveal more results than a SUBJECT search.

               Compare these searches:

                   Pop* music* 3894 results.

An asterisk is a truncation device that allows you to search for all letters coming after the root word you're using: music* searches musicals, musics, musician, etc.

Check this out:  Perform a SUBJECT SEARCH, selecting VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION, on the term "Popular Music".  You'll find an extensive list (49 pages) of subjects illuminating various aspects of popular music.  Click on some of these headings to discover more resources.

 

 

 

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu