Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find What You Need Faster
- Radishchev and the Russian Enlightenment
- Chaadaev and Nicholas I’s nationalism
- Dostoevsky and the Russian Liberals
- Tolstoy and the Russian Orthodox Church
- Gorky and the Bolsheviks
- Trotsky and Proletkult
- Mayakovsky and the new Bolsheviks
- Tsvetaeva and the status quo, abroad and in Russia
- Platonov and the Socialist Realism
- Akhmatova and the Socialist Realism
- Solzhenitsyn and Prison Literature
- Prokhanov and the post-Soviet Russia
- Politkovskaya, Limonov, Bykov and Putin’s Russia
From the syllabus: "In your final paper, cite at least four sources (one must be a journal) in addition to any of the books assigned for this course. Please include a Russian – English essential vocabulary (minimum of 30 words) at the end of your final essay."
If you haven't been assigned a particular citation style, pick one and stick with it:
You can get help in creating citations from librarians at the reference desk or from tutors at the Writing Center.
From the syllabus
Your research project will explore a characteristically Russian phenomenon—a dangerous, sometimes deadly, interaction between an artist (understood broadly—a writer, a musician, a film director) and the political authority.…Your task is to find out as much as you can about the artist’s life and articulate how his or her work challenged—while in some aspects also complied with—the dominant socio-political paradigm. What were some of the sacred beliefs defied and challenged by the chosen work? Why did the artist risk his or her career—and often life—to attack these values? What is the historical significance, the legacy, of the chosen work?
. . .
Your final essay (12-15 pages, due Oct. 14) should focus on a text (a work of art) that was crucial in the artist’s challenge to his/her socio-political environment. You should demonstrate a thorough familiarity of your narrow topic and offer an original analysis, whose purpose is to answer an important question that propelled your research.
Use Tiger to find books & more at Colorado College
Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.
Use Prospector to request books & more from across Colorado
If you can't find a book, DVD, CD, or other item you need in Tiger, you can use Prospector to search libraries across Colorado and then request that they be sent to the Tutt Library circulation desk for you to check out here.
Coverage: 1967 - current. Covers world history (except for the United States and Canada: see America, History and Life for North American coverage).
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles.
Art & Architecture Complete
Coverage: 1980 - current. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images.
Coverage: 1979 - current. Indexes over 670 international music periodicals, covering a broad range of subjects. Good subject headings for searches; citations only.
, Art & Art History
, Book Studies
, Comparative Literature
, Film and New Media
, Library Research Help
Tutt Library contains many Russian and Russian-English dictionaries--check the call numbers that start with "PG" in both the reference book stacks and the circulating stacks in the basement.
Online, we have Oxford Language Dictionaries, which includes Russian as one of their languages. It's probably most useful as a searchable dictionary, but the Russian section also contains grammar tools and other helpful sections.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu