Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Africa Knowledge Project
Journals and databases from the Africa Resource Center focusing on Africa and the African Diaspora. Content includes JENdA: A Journal of Culture and African Women Studies, Journal on African Philosophy, and the African Music Database.
African Women Bibliographic Database
Coverage: 1986 - current. Indexes English language materials: books and government documents; articles in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; videocassettes. Some full text.
Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database
Coverage: 1830 - current. Indexes English language articles from journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent. Includes full text from 10 electronic journals.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Coverage: historical. Offers basic searching of the full-text of nearly 12,000 pages of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the print edition. Limited to 3 maximum simultaneous users.
Coverage: 1906 - current. Indexes books, journal articles, conference proceedings about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
Annotated, interdisciplinary bibliography covering Islamic religion, textual traditions, history, philosophy, anthropology, language, and literature.
Access World News: Research Collection
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.
Not sure where to search?
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with some Sociology titles.
Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues).
Browse African Studies journals on JSTOR
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
We have many databases on EBSCOHOST. You can cross-search multiple EBSCO databases together.
Coverage (articles published): 18th century - current. Covers world history (except for the United States and Canada: see America, History and Life for North American coverage).
Click here for a list of print periodicals in Tutt Library with Afric* as a keyword.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu