Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Company and Industry Research: Searching

Keyword Searching

Use the Search Generator from Northwest Missouri State University to help you create a keyword search. 

                        Using AND/OR/NOT (Boolean Search Operators)

AND

Use AND to focus search and combine different aspects of your topic.

Example: vegetarianism and environment
OR

Use OR to expand your search and find synonyms/related terms.

Example: global warming or climate change

NOT

Use NOT to exclude a word or phrase from your search

Example: emissions trading not United States

 

Additional Search Tips

"Phrase search"  - Use quotation marks (" ") to search for a particular phrase.

Example: "greenhouse gas emissions"

Truncation * - Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural.

Example: environment* (finds environments, environmental, environmentalist, etc.)

(Grouping/Nesting Keywords) - Use parentheses ( ) as a way to group all your search terms together.

Example: (climate change or global warming) and population growth

Create A Keyword List

The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.

  • Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
  • Try the Search Generator from Northwest Missouri State University to help you create a keyword search.
    • Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
    • Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.

      Putting the 'RE' in searching

      You may need to do multiple searches in each database. And with patient and persistence, you will find relevant material.

      Search multiple catalogs (TIGER, Prospector, Google Books) and databases noting those keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.

      Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies

      Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the names of popular authors written in past and used in an article.

      To find relevant articles since an article was published use:

      Web of Science

      - try this database to find influential articles and track citation usage.

      Google Scholar

      - note the "Cited by" links

      JStor's Track Citations

      - receive emails when new articles cite the orginial target article

      Ebsco Databases Academic Search Complete

      - Cited References - top menu
      - Find Similar Results - once in an article record

      Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu