Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Full Text Articles
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (Tutt's bound periodicals)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Tutt Link FAQs
Create a Keyword List
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
- Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
- Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
- Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
- Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
- Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Databases for the Environmental Program
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines.
Broad coverage of environment and related subjects, with both full-text and extensive abstract/indexing.
Coverage: 1990's - current. Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Please note: we subscribe to a subset of the Annual Reviews, and may not have access to the earliest volume for each title.
Coverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
Coverage: varies. Scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports from over 600 titles dealing with the interaction between humans and the environment.
Coverage: 1907 - current. SciFinder Web retrieves information contained in databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and Medline. It contains journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more, covering a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering.
Registering for the first time? Click here
NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.
Coverage: 1982 - current. This resource covers 'all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.'
Other Environmental Databases
History of science, technology and medicine
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
Encyclopedia of life sciences
Coverage: varies. Features signed, peer-reviewed entries covering cell, molecular, and structural biology, microbiology, genetics, neuroscience, and plant science.
Coverage: 1998 - current. An aggregation of full-text research journals including biological, ecological and environmental sciences published by small scholarly societies. Peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1785 - current. A comprehensive geoscience database covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the
names of popular authors.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu