Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Full Text Articles
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (Tutt's bound periodicals)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the
names of popular authors.
Databases for Physics
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Peer-reviewed, scholarly, and empirical articles. Citation-based searching in all disciplines.
Coverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
IoP electronic journals (Institute of Physics)
Coverage: 1874 - current. Full text articles of over 70 journals from their inception, dealing with all areas of physics, pure and applied.
Physical review online archive PROLA
Coverage: 1893 - most recent 3 years. PROLA is the Physical Review Online Archive, which includes the full-text of articles from Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and the Physical Review series from their inception up to the most recent 3 years.
Coverage: early 1800s - current. Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Originally based on Mathematical Reviews (MR).
Other Physics Databases
General science abstracts
Coverage: 1984 - current. Covers all the natural Sciences.
History of science, technology and medicine
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
Coverage: 1990's - current. Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Please note: we subscribe to a subset of the Annual Reviews, and may not have access to the earliest volume for each title.
Create a Keyword List
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
- Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
- Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
- Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
- Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
- Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu