Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


CO100: Introduction to Comparative Literature (FYE): Finding Literary Criticism

Block 5 and 6 FYE with Corinne Scheiner.

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography database (link below) is our most comprehensive source for finding articles, book chapters, and books related to literature and language.

Tip: Due to the way that MLA assigns keywords, you may need to be especially patient when searching and "teaching" the database what you mean. For example, sometimes articles that deal with gender issues are assigned the keyword gender. Sometimes, though, only the more specific keywords, such as masculinity, femininity, men, or women are assigned.

So try putting all the words that suggest a particular concept in one search box, separated by "or": "virginia woolf" and "gender" gets about 1/5 the hits that "virginia woolf" and "gender or men or women or masculin* or feminin*" gets.

JSTOR for literary criticism articles

JSTOR is a huge collection of online journals, some of them stretching back to the nineteenth century. Unlike MLA, it isn't confined to litearary and language studies, and covers a broad spectrum of academic interests. You will also be searching the full text of the articles in the database, so you should go ahead and use more specific keywords (and be prepared to get back results that you didn't anticipate).

Use Tiger for literary criticism in books

Search Tigerby 

If you find citations for books and book chapters in MLA, you will need to search TIGER to see if we have those books in Tutt Library.

You can also search for criticism directly in TIGER. Think broadly, using your author's name as a subject.

Humanities Librarian

Steve Lawson's picture
Steve Lawson
1021 N. Cascade Ave.
Colorado Springs CO 80903
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: