Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Art criticism and other articles
Gerally speaking, these databaes don't cover the arts of China and Japan, so I doubt you will use them much this block. Still, they may be interesting for looking at art in a wider context.
Art & Architecture Complete
Coverage: 1980 - current. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images.
Art Index Retrospective
Coverage: 1929 - 1984. Indexes hundreds of international art journals. See Art & Architecture Complete for more recent articles.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Coverage: 1973 - 2010. Covers Western art from Antiquity to the present. Indexes more sources than Art Abstracts, but does not cover Asian art, and does not have full text articles. No longer updated. See International Bibliography of Art for current indexing.
Coverage: 1999 - current. Critical reviews of books, exhibitions, and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies. Published by the College Art Association.
Humanities International Complete
Coverage: 1929 - current. A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Coverage: 1906 - current. Indexes books, journal articles, conference proceedings about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage: 2008-current. Bibliographic database of international scholarly literature on western art. Subjects include fine arts in all media, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Best Bets for Asian art
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains citations (not full text) for articles, books, and book chapters in non-Asian languages on all aspects of Asian Studies.
JSTOR archives journals on all kinds of academic subjects, not just Asian Studies. Articles are in full text, ready for you to download.
Different approaches for different databases
Different databases are...different!
|Bibliography of Asian Studies
- discipline-specific (Asian Studies only)
- citations only
- searching limited fields (title/author and subject)
- search screen encourages logical search (AND/OR)
- includes citations to books and book chapters
- all disciplines
- all full text
- searching full text
- search screen encourages Google-style search
- only journal articles
Think about how you might search them differently based on how the databases are made. What makes one more appealing than the other? What are some good points about the one you don't like as much?
Collections & Digital Archives Librarian
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu