Open Access Books
- Directory of Open Access Books (doab)
- searchable index for "peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license".
- Project Gutenburg - free ebooks, copyright for most of these books has expired in the United States
- Library of Congress Digital Library project - digital library of reproductions of primary source materials to support the study of the history and culture of the United States; American Memory
OA Book Lists
Not individual OA books, but lists of OA books and lists of collections of OA books.
The books must be OA, not merely "free" or "trial."
- free literature. Includes a very large list of collections of OA books.
- Free Tech Books. Books in computer science and engineering.
- Free Textbooks: A Meta Collection. From the Open Culture blog.
- The Online Books Page. From John Mark Ockerbloom.
- Open Library. From the Open Content Alliance.
- Planet eBook. From Richard Crocker.
- Project Gutenberg. Public-domain books of all kinds.
- Publishers of OA books list of links
OAIster
Freely available electronic documents and resources from institutional repositories and from open access journals.
- available items conforming to a particular Open Archives Initiative (OAI) protocol
- harvest key bibliographic information from these freely available resources and points to the resources
- Theses
- Journal articles
- Preprints
- Book chapters
- Conference proceedings
Take note: Some items are peer-reviewed, while others are not.
Internet Archive
is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to
Text and books
Video movies, newsreels; classic cartoons; pro- and anti-war propaganda
Music and concert recordings
150 billion archived web pages
OA
Open access sites
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
- over 2500 of these journals can be searched at the article level from the DOAJ search box
BASE
- multi-disciplinary search engine which harvests open access content from over 2000 repositories
- includes articles, books, theses, reports, data and multimedia items
- searches hundreds of free scholarly ejournals in the arts & humanities.
J-Stage
- hundreds of journals published in Japan, primarily related to science, medicine and engineering,
- with many journals in the humanities and social sciences and dozens of conference proceedings
Free Online Full-text Articles.
- limited to journals published online with the assistance of HighWire Press, Stanford University.
Specific Disciplines
- Ancient Studies -Open Access Journals in. From Charles Ellwood Jones.
- Archaeology - OA journals in . From WikiArc.
- Chemistry -Free Full-Text Journals in . Maintained by Alexander Ragoisha.
- Education - American Educational Research SIG list of OA journals in . Maintained by Tirupalavanam G. Ganesh.
- OA journals in educational technology. From George Veletsianos.
- OA journals in geoscience.
- Free Medical Journals. From Amedeo.
- Medicine - PubMed Central. U.S. National Institutes of Health free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
- Medicine - PLoS (Public Library of Science)- non-profit organization of 7 open access biomedical journals, (6 are ranked for impact factor by ISI's Journal Citation Reports)
- Medicine - BioMed Central (BMC) - commercial publisher which produces about 200 open access journals, over 20 are ranked for impact factor by ISI's Journal Citation Reports)
- Open Access Journals in Middle Eastern Studies