Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Secondary Sources with Primary Sources
Over one million photographs provided by the Associated Press. Photos range from up-to-the-minute to historical.
Oral history online
Coverage: 1930 - 2008.
Growing index to 2,700+ collections of oral history in English from around the world; 280,000+ pages by over 9,000 individuals and pointers to thousands of audio/video files. Browse the Table of Contents by repository, interview, date, place, event or subject. Advanced search allows for detailed searching by factors like names, ages, historical events discussed, and more.
Women Writers Online
Coverage: 1400 - 1850.
Contains fulltext of nearly 400 works of early modern women writers.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Full text of the The Times (London) provides access to full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
HISTORICAL ARCHIVE 1843-2006. Digitized version of the famous magazine which has analyzed British and global affairs for 150+ years. For more recent issues of the Economist, please see the print version in Tutt Library or access through EBSCO.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digitized copies of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Now incorporates new texts from ECCO part two.
Early English Books Online
Coverage: 1475 - 1700.
Contains the full text of over 100,000 English books, pamphlets, and more, from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, from 1500-1950
Coverage: 1558 - 1950.
Contains 100,000+ pages of letters and diaries of over 500 women. Organized for detailed browsing and searching. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Freely Available on the Internet
British History Online
Contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles
British Library Digitised Manuscripts
Copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents.
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
A site "designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web"
Catalogue of Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts
Search for descriptions of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts based largely on the Catalogue of Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
Early English Books Online
Coverage: 1475 - 1700. Contains the full text of over 100,000 English books, pamphlets, and more, from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
From Paul Halsall at Fordham University. Links are not always kept up to date.
The Society for the Study of Medieval Languages and Literature (Great Britain)
Middle English Compendium
Provides access to three Middle English electronic resources: Middle English Dictionary, Bibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
The New Chaucer Society
The purpose of the New Chaucer Society is to provide a forum for teachers and scholars of Geoffrey Chaucer and his age. To advance such study, the Society organizes biennial international congresses of Chaucerians, publishes the annual Studies in the Age of Chaucer and a semiannual newsletter, and supports such important projects as the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography.
Print Historical Journals
Tutt Library Bound Historical Journals
This is a complete list of the pre-1915 bound historical journals at Tutt Library. The journals, which are located on the second floor, are arranged alphabetically by title.
Tutt Library has hundreds of print historical journals dating back to the mid-1800s that are located on the second floor of the library. For a full list of 400+ journal titles and dates, check out the Tutt Library Bound Historical Journals link.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu