Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
The Middle Ages: Bestiaries
Griffin, Elephant with howdah, Armed warriors
Bodleian Library, University of Oxford
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Tutt Link FAQs
Different Approaches for Different Databases
Databases have unique features that impact searching. The more aware you are about the differences, the better you'll be able to make the most out of each database.
- What makes one database more appealing than the other?
- What are some good points about the one you don't like as much?
|| MLA International Bibliography
- all subjects
- all fullt text articles
- searches full text of articles
- Google-style searching
- only journal articles
- only literature, languages, etc.
- no full text articles
- searches citations
- logical searching (uses AND/OR)
- includes journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc.
Best Bets for Starting Your Research
Academic Search Complete
Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad. Upgraded from Academic Search Premier.
General databases that cover a lot of subjects -- such as Academic Search Complete and JSTOR -- are a good place to start your research.
Archival access to many scholarly periodicals, although the most recent year is not always available.
Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Covers world history.
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Project Muse provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals. Offers current and back issues.
Recommended Databases @ Tutt Library
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage: 2008-current. Bibliographic database of international scholarly literature on western art. Subjects include fine arts in all media, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Coverage: 1943 - current. Covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. Also included are citations for monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays.
Children's Literature Review
Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Criticism of works published from the late Middle Ages through the end of the seventeenth century. Part of Literature Criticism Online.
Women Writers Online
Coverage: 1400 - 1850. Contains fulltext of nearly 400 works of early modern women writers.
Find Journals by Title
You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Find Journals. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles.
Expand Your Research
More than likely you'll be able to find information about your topic in a number of different disciplines. If you're researching the role of women's clubs in the French Revolution, you will want to explore databases in history, feminist and gender studies, and women's studies.
View our Databases by Subject or the following subject guides:
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu