Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Art History Resources Online
Available @ Tutt Library...
Online Portals & Resources
American Library Association Digital Images Collections Guide
The ALA's collection of stable, legal and reliable image sites.
Christ Whitcomb's Art History Pages
More of a laundry list than an analyzed portal. Interesting stuff.
Finding Images on the Web (Tutorial from Boston University)
Topics include image copyright, downloading and inserting images, search engines, and image search engines. Selected image collections are grouped by category: advertisements, arts, clip art, education and visual literacy, history, illuminated manuscripts, lost art and looted artifacts, maps, people: pictures and portraits, photography, public domain, sciences, and various subjects.
The Mother of All Art and Art History Pages--U of Michigan
A private art portal run though the U of M's auspices. Updated and large, including material culture and not simply art.
Art & Architecture Complete
Coverage: 1980 - current. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
500 Years of Female Portraits in Western Art
Music: Bach's Sarabande from Suite for Solo Cello No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007 performed by Yo-Yo Ma
Museum Collections Online: A Selection
Art Institute of Chicago
The Art Institute, founded in 1879, now has approximately 300,000 works of art in its permanent collection.
Art Museum Sites
Yahoo's updated site of most popular (most frequently used) websites of art museums
Artefacts Canada database contains close to 4 million object records and approximately 800,000 images from Canadian museums.
Getty Search Gateway
The J. Paul Getty Museum makes high resolution images available directly through its portal. Search for Art by artist, genre, etc.
National Gallery of Art
Search the entire National Gallery of Art collection by artist's last name, key words in the title, key words in object information, credit line, provenance name, accession number, exhibition history, and/or catalogue raisonné.
Norton Simon Museum of Art
Search the archives by exhibition year, or by collection time period (European Art: 14th-16th Centuries; European Art: 17th-18th Centuries, etc.)
The Reformation at The Metropolitan Museum of Art
from the Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. Includes a slide show, thematic essays, and links to the Renaissance, etc..
Smarthistory: A Multimedia Web-book about Art and Art History
from the Khan Academy; winner of the 2012 Award for OpenCourseWare Excellence
Virtual Museum of Canada
Find virtual exhibits and interactive learning resources on numerous subjects, created by Canadian museums and galleries. You will also discover local history exhibits that capture exciting Canadian community memories, drawn from the collections of small museums and local memories and treasures.
Databases & Web Sites
Art Index Retrospective
Coverage: 1929 - 1984. Indexes hundreds of international art journals. See Art & Architecture Complete for more recent articles.
Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture. Save groups of images for later use in ARTstor, or download or print to use in class projects, presentations, and papers. First-time users must register for an account from a computer on campus.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Coverage: 1973 - 2010. Covers Western art from Antiquity to the present. Indexes more sources than Art Abstracts, but does not cover Asian art, and does not have full text articles. No longer updated. See International Bibliography of Art for current indexing.
Humanities International Complete
Coverage: 1929 - current. A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage: 2008-current. Bibliographic database of international scholarly literature on western art. Subjects include fine arts in all media, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Encyclopedia of aesthetics
Comprehensive online reference source for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art.
Find These Books & Resources @ Tutt Library
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu