Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

MU 228 From Stage to Screen: A Musical Transformation: Find Scores

Looking for a composer?

If you want to find works by a composer, do an AUTHOR search in the Tiger catalog.  This will bring up anything she has created (scores, recordings, writings, etc).

If you want to find out about a composer, do a SUBJECT search. 

For both of these searches, use this order-last name, first name:

Rachmaninoff, Sergei

Many contemporary composers have websites with sound files and biographical information.

Finding Scores

Generally, scores are found in the Music Library.

Use a TITLE search.  You can limit your search by selecting the following collection:

  • VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION-you'll bring up scores, recordings, videos, and any books, or chapters in books, etc. about your musical.
  • MUSIC LIBRARY-you'll bring up everything located in the Music Library-mainly scores and audio/video recordings.

If you want to find works by a composer, do an AUTHOR search in the Tiger catalog.  This will bring up anything she has created (scores, recordings, writings, etc).

IMPORTANT!!  You must use the convention of Last Name, First Name when using an AUTHOR search!

            Bernstein, Leonard

Libraries shelve similar types of musical works together:  Check out the call number area, M1503--Scores of musicals are located in this area, by last name of composer, A-Z.

For more information about searching for music scores, visit the Music Subject Guide and link to the Find Scores page.


Sheet Music and Scores Databases

  • Sheet Music Consortium
    A huge collection of digitized sheet music collections from many universities and other sources.

  • IMSLP Petrucci Music Library
    A digital music library, free printing allowed. It aspires to collecting all public domain music, as well as music by living composers willing to share their works. It's a Canadian site, so adheres to stricter copyright regulations than the United States.
  • Online Resources for Music Scholars
    "provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites."

  • Digital Librarian: Scores
    A collection of internet resources reviewed by librarians for their authoritativeness and usability.

  • Choral Public Domain Library
    Free, public domian choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.

  • Orchestral Music Online
    A great reference resource on symphonic literature, containing about 6700 works by 900 composers. This is the online version of David Daniel's classic print resource. This database is searchable by timings, instrumentation, available editions, soloists, and choruses.
  • Theme Finder
    Themefinder provides search access to a database containing tens of thousands of short melodies and musical incipits, allowing you to identify common themes in Western classical music, Folksongs, and Latin Motets of the sixteenth century.

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu