Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Evaluating Primary Sources
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1849 - 1985.
The Chicago Tribune is one of the nation's oldest continuously published newspapers. Source for prohibition debates, mercantile development of the midwest, westward expansion, Settlement House Movement - Jane Addams, Al Capone. Full image and full text newspaper articles. (Lexis-Nexis provides current text coverage from March 1, 2002-present.)
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1881 - 1986.
Provides complete, full-image access to historical articles from the Los Angeles Times from 1881. For current online articles, use Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1851 - 3 years from current.
Provides full-image access to historical articles from the New York Times from 1851 to 3 years from present.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Spanish and bilingual Spanish/English newspapers published in the United States from the 19th to 20th centuries. Great source of historical information and culture; also a source of reporting on events in Spanish-speaking countries that were not necessarily covered in English-language newspapers. Part of "America's Historical Newspapers."
Foreign Newspaper Database at the Center for Research Libraries
Search by title, city, country, language, etc. and request materials to be loaned via Prospector.
See Center for Research Libraries FAQ.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers from around the world and in the U.S. (Most are free, some cost).
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu