Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

MU 211 Miles Ahead: The Miles Davis Years: Find Recordings/videos

Hot Tips!

Just looking for a sound recording or video (DVD, etc)?

  • Select AUDIO/VIDEO from the drop down box for searching.

Use an AUTHOR search to find sound/video recordings of composers and performers.

  • REMEMBER! You must use Last Name, First Name when conducting an AUTHOR search!

Finding Recordings: Tiger, Prospector and WorldCat

You have access to recordings  from three sources -- TIGER, Prospector, and WorldCat:

  • TIGER includes all of the recordings owned by campus libraries
  • Prospector gives you access to media in 22 regional libraries
  • WorldCat lists library holdings nationwide

Delivery Times

  • Prospector: 3-5 business days
  • WorldCat (Interlibrary Loan): 5-10 business days

Recordings/Videos in the Music Library

The Music Library provides a large collection of audio/video jazz performances in many formats: CDs, LPs, DVDs, and VHS videos.  

 You'll find most of these formats in the Tiger catalog.  Most of our LPs, including jazz records, are not found in Tiger.  Please search for these in the paper catalog,located on the southwest wall of the library. Ask a librarian to get these for you.

See the Getting Started tab for some specific search hints.

 

Music 24/7! Streamed Audio...........

The Music Library provides streamed audio jazz files, available 24/7, in two ways:

  • Course Audio Reserves linked from your PROWL course pages. Access is limited to students enrolled in the course.

 IMPORTANT!!  You must select VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION to pull up results from these databases.

Search Tips

When searching TIGER, Prospector, and WorldCat, try to

  • Use broad keywords from your class reading to begin your search.
  • Refine your searches by adding keywords.
  • Click on the subject headings of interesting sources to find similar materials and more search terms.
  • Try the Library of Congress Authorities and Vocabularies thesaurus to find variations of keywords and subject headings.

Think Broadly. Remember to think broadly when searching for materials - that is, to realize that your specific topic will probably be treated in books that cover a broader subject.

Once you find a resource relevant to your topic, use subject headings to help you find more.

To limit your results to recordings (sound/video), select Audio/Video from the drop down box.

Search Examples:

  • Keyword (limited to View Entire Collection drop down box)
  • Subject, gleaned from a result from the search above (limited to View Entire Collection)-by doing this you'll see a variety of useful subject headings.
             You'll see a variety of useful subject headings.          

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu