Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Race and Ethnic Studies Databases
Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.
Gender Studies Database
Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.
Ethnic American Newspapers 1799-1971
130+ digitized newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Covered topics include Japanese internment camps, significant immigration laws, and contributions of immigrants to American society. Emphasis is on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.
Find Journals by Title
You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Find Journals. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles.
Academic Search Complete
Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad. Upgraded from Academic Search Premier.
Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a "moving wall" imposed on them.
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Project Muse provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals. Offers current and back issues.
Oxford University Press Journals
Coverage: varies; usually late 1990's - current. A searchable collection of full text periodicals. Scholarly sources.
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Tutt Link FAQs
America, History and Life
Covers American History.
Covers world history.
Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive humanities database with almost 500 full text titles, and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multidisciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track popular authors.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu