Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to legal materials and law review articles. Can do citation search - search box in middle of front page.
Provides access to congressional and legislative information. Includes information about members of congress like voting records, addresses, etc.
Search for federal government documents and publications
Laws are often referred to by a more general name.
To find laws, acts, ect. use the actual name which can be looked up in these resources:
- U.S.C.. has popular Name Tables at the end of the general indexes
- federal acts are listed alphabetically by their short titles or common names with citations to the appropriate title and section of the Code
- provides references to the common names of both federal and state statutes and cases
- very comprehensive - often lists several citations to a particular name
- Reference KF90.S52
- links to a popular names tables
American law yearbook
Annual supplements to the (Gale) Encyclopedia of American Law; includes
- U.S. Supreme Court
- Federal and national government
Law reviews are scholarly journals typically published by law schools.
They are secondary sources of legal material used for conducting legal research.
Locating & reading a law review or journal article is usually a great way to begin research on a topic:
- thorough discussion & analysis of a particular legal issue,
- footnotes provide citations for the primary sources of law (statutes, cases, etc.) related to the issue.
Nexis Uni - indexes law reviews
Law Review Commons - Over 300 open-access law reviews · Over 220,000 articles · Free current issues & archives from 1852
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu