Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Historical Journal Databases
Coverage: 1728 - 1900. Access to archival fulltext newspapers including the Pennsylvania Gazette, African American and Civil War Newspapers, and Godey's Lady's Book
American Periodicals Series Online
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. May be cross-searched with ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Early American Imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
Coverage: 1639 - 1800.
Full text of almost every book and pamphlet printed in North America from 1639 to 1800. Not yet complete.
Early American Imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Coverage: 1801 - 1819.
Full text of almost every book and pamphlet printed in North America from 1801 to 1819. Not yet complete.
Making of America 1815-1926
A digital library of 19th century books and periodicals, including the Atlantic Monthly, North American Review. Scribner's, Living Age and more. (Cornell University Library)
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Coverage: 1802 - 1906.
Web version of Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals. Government Documents Indices include indexes to: U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830.
Readers Guide Abstracts
Coverage: 1983 - current.
Popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. 1983-current.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Coverage: 1890 - 1982.
The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts.
Evaluating Primary Sources
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu